Exporting (bouncing?) a podcast as mono mp3

traviss

How do I export my podcast as a mono mp3?

I've searched and searched and either I don't actually know what I'm asking and/or looking for or I just can't find an answer so hopefully you guys can help me.

I changed all of my channel inputs other than the stereo music track to mono but the outputs are "stereo out" When I change the outputs to mono I only hear audio from the left channel. Why would mono not just combine the left and right? When I change the master track to two mono output tracks, it creates a Stereo Out, and an Output 2 and my loudness instantly drops from -19 to -29, and I can't get it back to -19 without changing the master track back to stereo and then everything sounds great again.

One more thing, if my original tracks were recorded in mono in Garageband, why would they have all defaulted to stereo when I opened the project in Logic?

Thanks for any help you can give me. I'm a professional video editor but this audio routing and bouncing stuff has me so confused.

The default for LPX is typically an interleaved stereo file. Stereo is also pretty much the default for anyone listening to a podcast, such as in iTunes, even though 98% of podcasts are likely mono (some may include stereo music stingers).

If you have a mono podcast to distribute, it will be most compatible if you export that in dual mono, meaning two interleaved channels that, being identical, should provide a 'mono' experience for listeners using iTunes or nearly any other platform to listen to it.