A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Novi
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:20 pm
Contact:

Syncing tempo to 4-track audio recording

Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:44 am

It's been a long time since I used such something similar, maybe there are nowadays better ways to handle this in Logic because I think how I dealt with this in the past doesn't seem to be available anymore. Anyway this is the case:

- I have a 4-track analog recording imported in Logic on 4 consecutive tracks. Because I want to add new rhythm instruments omn new tracks I want to Logic to keep in sync with the original track.
- There is one caveat: the first 3 minutes of the song are very free format without really a tempo (which is OK, nothing to add there), but after 3 minutes a drum computer kicks in and from that point onwards I would like to keep Logic in perfect sync with the tempo of the original track...

What do you think is the best way to achieve that?

Your help is appreciated!
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 4625
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Syncing tempo to 4-track audio recording  Topic is solved

Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:25 pm

Move all four Regions so that the first downbeat of the recorded drum machine falls on a downbeat of Logic.
Then proceed as explained here:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=152527&#p798050
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
Novi
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing tempo to 4-track audio recording

Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:11 am

Thank you Christian, that was very helpful.