A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
dtf2112
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 5:16 pm

Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:02 pm

Hello, I've been using logic for about 5 years but I'm new to smart tempo. Just upgraded from 10.3 to 10.5. I can already see that the potential for this new technology is absolulty a game changer for many reasons, but I'm very frustrated trying to solve 1 simple thing. One of the main reasons I upgraded was because I wanted to use drummer with smart tempo to make it easier to create drum tracks for cover songs using the original mp3 by various bands as a template. I've done this in the past but it took a lot of patience and tweaking to get it to line up with the drummer's beat. So I have been experimenting with some success and some failures. I open a basic song writer template. I turn on smart tempo to "ADAPT" I drag and drop a song with a basic beat just to get started learning how to use it. Logic analyzes the mp3 and makes the correct adjustments to the tempo. So far so good. Everything seems right until I create a drummer region and realize that logic has decide to place the mp3 nudged forward at least 1 measure, so that the drummer's starting measure is early and the 4th measure where the fill should go is early also. If I move the mp3 over to try and synch up with the correct drummer starting point, it doesn't move the tempo changes along with it. So, as the free style original recording that didn't use a metronome moves along, it becomes more and more off the correct beat.

So, how do I import, or drag a song mp3 into and empty track so that when logic adapt tempo starts to analyze the tempo it doesn't move it down the road? Or, better yet, how can I move it with the newly analyzed smart tempo data in the tempo track? Or, is there a way to tell the drummer to use a different measure as its starting point? For example, instead of the first 4 measure being from 1 through 4, force to to be 2 through 5, so the drum fill or roll happens where I want it?

Sorry if this sound like a beginner, thanks!
 
User avatar
robinloops
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:11 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.  Topic is solved

Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:32 pm

Press G key to show global tracks and make sure tempo lane is showing. Select the tempo events and the region and move them together.
LPX 10.4.5; OS 10.14.5; iMac I5/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM; SSD; Saffire Pro24: Scarlett 2i2; AxiomPro61
Misc: iControl; Denon MC600
 
dtf2112
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 5:16 pm

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:49 pm

WOW! That did it! I feel a fool for not seeing such an obvious "logical" function. But in my defense, I haven't had any caffeine in 6 weeks. LOL. THANK YOU robinloops.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:27 am

dtf2112 wrote:
I haven't had any caffeine in 6 weeks.

How can you call yourself a professional if you're not using the tools of the trade?? :shock:
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
dtf2112
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 5:16 pm

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:58 am

Point taken. It was just a Health challenge to see what happens after 40 years of caffeine addiction. I have a follow up question but I’m not sure if I should start a new topic because it’s somewhat related to the first question. I have a Fishman triple play midi Controller pick up mounted to my guitar. I’m using this so I can record both a baseline and a guitar line simultaneously. The midi guitar pick up is playing the bass line onto one Software instrument track and then my guitar is going into a separate audio track. I have no problem recording both at the same time and it sounds really cool. Kind of like rage against the machine sound, guitar and bass an octave a part. But if I put it into smart tempo adapt mode, after it it finishes analyzing it it stretches the midi track out almost double length as the guitar track. I spent hours trying to figure out what’s going wrong to no avail. I even initialized all settings back to factory. For some reason the adapt analyzing is treating the midi recording differently and not applying the same tempo changes to it. If this is the wrong place to ask this question just let me know and I’ll start a new topic question thank you for your help.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Fri Oct 23, 2020 5:07 am

Yes you may as well start a new topic for that new question seeing as this topic is now marked as solved. Thanks!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
beer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:42 pm

Hai , I have the same question I want to record voice and midi piano at the same time with adapt tempo so I can work on it later with more midi stuff . but the midi and audio track don't match any more . its driving me crazy .please let know because I don't see the answers above .
 
dtf2112
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 5:16 pm

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:12 am

Sorry I just saw your question. I still haven't been able to resolve recording both an audio track and midi at the same time in ADAPT mode, however I did figure out a work around that achieved the same end result. It's been months since I tried it so I don't remember the exact steps, but basically I gave up on using ADAPT mode while recording both midi and audio at the same time, and completed the recording in KEEP mode, then after I wen't back and applied smart tempo analyzing to the tracks together and it worked. Hope that helps. I have a new project I'm going to need to replicate this process again in the coming weeks. I will try to take exact notes this time and repost detailed steps if you still can't figure it out. Good luck!
 
beer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:34 am

hai there, thanks so much for the reply. and I'll give the other proces a try . please keep me posted about what you find out! Best wishes for the new year! Greetz Beer
 
User avatar
Ashermusic
Posts: 3394
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lake Balboa, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Drummer and Smart tempo correct starting point.

Wed Dec 30, 2020 6:37 am

dtf2112 wrote:
Sorry I just saw your question. I still haven't been able to resolve recording both an audio track and midi at the same time in ADAPT mode, however I did figure out a work around that achieved the same end result. It's been months since I tried it so I don't remember the exact steps, but basically I gave up on using ADAPT mode while recording both midi and audio at the same time, and completed the recording in KEEP mode, then after I wen't back and applied smart tempo analyzing to the tracks together and it worked. Hope that helps. I have a new project I'm going to need to replicate this process again in the coming weeks. I will try to take exact notes this time and repost detailed steps if you still can't figure it out. Good luck!


At this point in time, it’s not possible to record audio and MIDI simultaneously with Adapt Tempo and get an accurate tempo, map, it’s either or. So I record a MIDI. Piano part while singing along, without recording my vocal, and then record the vocal using Keep Tempo.
Mac mini 3.2 Six Core i7 w/ OSX 10.14

Composer, Logic Pro X Certified Trainer
Author of "Jumpstart Logic Pro X 10.5", "Going Pro with Logic Pro 9" & "Scoring with Logic Pro"
http://www.jayasher.com