Unsure about choosing my first MBP for Logic Pro X

soyuz

Hello everyone,

As this is my first ever topic on this forum, I'll briefly introduce myself: I am a French amateur musician currently working abroad, and I've been thinking about getting a Macbook Pro for a while so I can use Logic Pro X. I tried a bunch of DAWs before (FL Studio, Ableton Live, ProTools, Cakewalk, GarageBand for iPhone), and after using Logic Pro X 10.5 on my girlfriend's 2012 Macbook Air, I figured it was what suited me best.

Problem is, I never owned an Apple computer before, so I don't know which one is the best for my musical needs. Portability is very much an issue, since I move around quite a bit because of work. And from what I read on most forums and seen from my girlfriend's outdated Macbook Air, Logic Pro X works way better on a Macbook Pro. So I plan on buying a secondhand/refurbished MBP, mainly because of environmental reasons, but also because of the price. As I live in the EU, Apple devices are usually 20% more expensive than in the US, so the most recent MBPs with 32 GB RAM are way over my budget.

I mostly plan to use Logic Pro to record voices and instruments (keyboards, guitar, bass, flute...) through a sound interface, but I don't exclude using MIDI controllers with the sound library. I don't plan on using lots of heavy plugins for now, as I still have a lot to learn about Logic. So far, the sound library (including effects and virtual instruments) mostly cover my needs. I already worked with my girlfriend on pop/neo soul compositions and covers with around 15 different parts (mostly voices), and I would like to record a few jazz fusion songs using my own instruments as well as Logic synths and drums. I am not going to compose a 2-hour movie soundtrack anytime soon, nor wil I try (and fail) to become the new Jacob Collier.