A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Dupont
Topic Author
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: France

Big sur OK ?

Fri Feb 26, 2021 1:01 am

Is it at last OK for upgrading to Bigsur for 3rd party plugins compatibility ?
Imac 2020 I7 octocore 3.8 Ghz, OSX 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6, vintage analogue gears : TB303, TR909, TR808, SH101, Juno alpha 1 and digital : JP8000, Nord lead2, S950, Basstation, TG500, PO32, AKAI MPK249 https://soundcloud.com/tek-alfb
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5161
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Big sur OK ?

Fri Feb 26, 2021 2:56 am

That depends on what plugins you have. Check compatibility with your stuff before making an informed decision.
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
Dupont
Topic Author
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: France

Re: Big sur OK ?

Wed Mar 03, 2021 11:50 am

Finally updated to bigsur but wifi stopped working. It seems a known issue ! Not logic related but ... annoying.
I must connect to the internet with my 200 £ laptop because my 2500 $ imac can't !!!
Imac 2020 I7 octocore 3.8 Ghz, OSX 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6, vintage analogue gears : TB303, TR909, TR808, SH101, Juno alpha 1 and digital : JP8000, Nord lead2, S950, Basstation, TG500, PO32, AKAI MPK249 https://soundcloud.com/tek-alfb
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Big sur OK ?

Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:10 pm

definitely check with ALL important software you are using before updating. an increasing number of things are working ok, but still some are not. Vienna Ensemble Pro, for example, is not certified to work with BigSur yet. Obviously LogicPro will work fine, but I think third party plugins you have to check with each manufacturer.

Highly recommend you backup whatever you. have now first before upgrading.
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 128gb ram, OSX 10.15 on OpenCore, Logic Pro 10.5, Mainstage3, Cubase10.5, StudioOne4, Reaper, DP10, VEP7, VSL, too many plugins to list
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 6001
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: yes
Contact:

Re: Big sur OK ?

Wed Mar 03, 2021 2:33 pm

Dupont wrote:
Finally updated to bigsur but wifi stopped working. It seems a known issue ! Not logic related but ... annoying.
I must connect to the internet with my 200 £ laptop because my 2500 $ imac can't !!!


have you reset the nvram? the smc? if others are experiencing this (i'm not, none of my collabs on big sur are), google and see what people figure out. good luck!
LP10.6.1 • os11.3b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
Dupont
Topic Author
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: France

Re: Big sur OK ?

Thu Mar 04, 2021 12:04 am

fisherking wrote:
Dupont wrote:
Finally updated to bigsur but wifi stopped working. It seems a known issue ! Not logic related but ... annoying.
I must connect to the internet with my 200 £ laptop because my 2500 $ imac can't !!!


have you reset the nvram? the smc? if others are experiencing this (i'm not, none of my collabs on big sur are), google and see what people figure out. good luck!


Yes did it with Apple support yesterday, it did not work, he said the reset will solve the issue 24 h after ?
another phone call is planned with Apple support this afternoon and he will help to reinstall OSX if wifi is still down.
Imac 2020 I7 octocore 3.8 Ghz, OSX 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6, vintage analogue gears : TB303, TR909, TR808, SH101, Juno alpha 1 and digital : JP8000, Nord lead2, S950, Basstation, TG500, PO32, AKAI MPK249 https://soundcloud.com/tek-alfb
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Big sur OK ?

Thu Mar 04, 2021 12:58 am

@Dupont, sorry you ran into issues but for anyone else reading this do this instead.
Create a second bootable OS X on an external hard drive, then you can test things to see if they're going to work.
It's not for full production use, but to test, in this case, you would have seen the wifi issue then you can make the decision not to upgrade until you have no issue on the second bootable drive.

I did that on my MacMini M1 because Refx installer, while it supports Universal the installer requires Rosetta 2, so I couldn't get Nexus installed on my M1, but with my external boot, I did install it, then copied the AU Component to the primary boot and now I see Nexus in Logic.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.3 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
Dupont
Topic Author
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: France

Re: Big sur OK ?

Thu Mar 04, 2021 11:42 am

for information, Wifi is OK this morning. by the way , I'm still waiting for Apple support to call me back as they said yesterday. they probably made a mistake with my phone number ! Not serious.
Imac 2020 I7 octocore 3.8 Ghz, OSX 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6, vintage analogue gears : TB303, TR909, TR808, SH101, Juno alpha 1 and digital : JP8000, Nord lead2, S950, Basstation, TG500, PO32, AKAI MPK249 https://soundcloud.com/tek-alfb