Constant crashing while editing...

grumblepig

Hi - this is my first post, though I probably have a hundred other "Why does/n't it do this when I do that???" questions for the forum!

I've been having frequent crashes, mostly while editing either audio or MIDI track (today I was cleaning up a vocal track, deleting space and adding fades and had at least two crashes.) When I say "crashes," I mean that Logic freezes and tells me I've run out of Application Memory and need to force quit. I'm not a very tech-headed fellow, so I don't have an easy sense of whether this is a Logic issue, or something to do with my computer or with my external drive etc. I have noticed that when Time Machine comes on automatically, that sometimes knocks Logic off track, but today, I turned the automatic backups off in TM. Also, I had no other applications open and was still getting the Force Quit message.

If someone can help me troubleshoot this, I'd appreciate it!

Hi there, unfortunatley I am not a pro with Logic...yet. But you will get an answer sooner or later from an expert.

I can still share the experience I had with Logic before getting a new Mac. I used to have a Mac Book Air Mid 2012 with an i5 processor and had exactly those issues with Logic that you are descirbing in your post. As soon as I got a new Mac with a better processor (2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7) those problems disapeared almost completley. I admit that its not perfect yet but definitley better!

You can by the way also see the CPU Load on the Display Mode "Costume" in order to estimate better which activities are putting too much load on your computer, that can help avoid future crashes.

When I say "crashes," I mean that Logic freezes and tells me I've run out of Application Memory and need to force quit

According to your signature, you shouldn't have CPU power issues with M1 Mini.

Maybe try reducing the amount of Undo Steps in Logic's preferences. Do you save often while working?