A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Pianoworldstage
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:55 am

Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Wed Mar 03, 2021 3:04 am

Hi

At the mastering stage when deciding to apply EQ which feature would be best recommended to use, the dedicated EQ effects tool inside the Garritan CFX piano sample library, or an EQ preset inside Logic?

I understand its down to personal choice, but sound design is not really my thing.
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 4608
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Wed Mar 03, 2021 4:31 am

Don't just apply EQ because you can. There needs to be a reason why you want to use it. If you can't think of one, it probably sounds just fine
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Wed Mar 03, 2021 4:36 am

Using either, both, or none are all equally valid choices depending on what you're trying to do, the arrangement, the orchestration, what the issue is you're trying to resolve, how the piece was composed, what genre it is, what type of master you're looking to produce, what your personal tastes are, etc. It's just about impossible to answer that question short of being seated next to you in the studio, listening to your composition, asking you questions about what you want etc.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Pianoworldstage
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:55 am

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Thu Mar 04, 2021 4:41 am

Thats an interesting point as I'm using the Sony MDR 7506 monitoring headphones which provide quite a flat signal, that said with no EQ applied the overall low mid and high frequency range sounds well when recording with the Classic version of Garritans Yamaha CFX Piano.

Naturally reference monitoring headphones are used to identify the most intricate details of a mix as well as providing a correct balance in EQ, that said using a well recorded piano such as the Garritan CFX, applying EQ maybe unnecessary?
 
User avatar
johnnytucats
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:31 pm

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Thu Mar 04, 2021 6:27 am

You say "mix"…what are you mixing…other instruments, voices?
Logic Pro 10.5.1
macOS 10.14.6
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:18 am

Pianoworldstage wrote:
using a well recorded piano such as the Garritan CFX, applying EQ maybe unnecessary?

Yes. It may be unnecessary. Or it may be necessary. There's no universal answer.

If you buy a house and the living room walls are painted white, is it necessary to apply paint to change their color? Only you can tell, depending on your taste, the vibe you want to have in your living room etc.

For example, if you want a soft velvety warm vintage-sounding piano, you may want to EQ your track to get closer to that sound. Or if you feel that the piano sounds too aggressive or too muddy, then you may want to EQ it to tame the aggressive frequencies, or to bring clarity to the frequency spectrum. But if you are perfectly happy with the way it sounds as is, there's no need to EQ anything.

Think of the EQ as a tool. Let's say a screwdriver. If you buy a house, should you use a screwdriver? Well... it depends. Is there an issue with the house that you need to fix? Which one? Is the screwdriver the appropriate tool? Or maybe there's no issue with the house but you'd like to add some shelving or a painting. Then you could use a screwdriver, or perhaps a hammer. Or maybe you're perfectly happy with the house in which case no, you don't need to use a screwdriver. If you can't tell whether the house is fine or needs to be fixed, but start hammering and screwing things here and there hoping that it may somehow improve, chances are you are going to make things worse.

This reminds me of the true story of the home producer who started mixing his song in Logic using mostly preset EQs and compressors and reverbs until, frustrated, he decided he just couldn't make it sound good and went to a pro studio to get it mixed. The mixing engineer started working on the Logic project and within only a few minutes, the home producer got up and said "WOW I have no idea what you've done so far but it sounds already SO much better." To which the mixing engineer replied "I removed all the plug-ins from your Mixer."

To avoid this happening to you, start making goal-oriented decisions when mixing. First listen, and if you hear something that is too loud, turn it down. If it's too dynamic, compress it. If it's too dull, or too harsh, EQ it.

Pianoworldstage wrote:
I'm using the Sony MDR 7506 monitoring headphones which provide quite a flat signal

The Sony MDR 7506 are anything but flat. Here is their frequency response:

Image

Source: https://www.sonarworks.com/blog/gear-re ... -mdr-7506/
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Pianoworldstage
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:55 am

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:03 am

Thanks David for that great analogy, will keep it in mind, helpful.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Applying EQ Inside Logic ???

Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:06 am

You're welcome, any time. I'm glad you found it helpful, I know such analogies don't always speak to everyone but I feel they're a great way to put concepts in perspective. :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM