A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Cristianp
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:57 pm
Location: London

Re-Amping Guitar

Wed Mar 03, 2021 4:26 am

Hi guys, hope everyone is safe and well.

I am trying to take the signal of a guitar that was recorded straight into Logic by a client, and send it out of my Scarlett Focusrite 18i20 into an Overdrive pedfal, then record it back into Logic. At the moment all that gets recorded is a horrible chainsaw sound.

I have the audio channel in logic that has the guitar. I have the output set to Output 9 on my interface.
Output 9 has a 1/4" jack going into the input of my Overdrive pedal, the output of the pedal is going into Input 1 of the interface.
When I create an audio channel with the Input as Input 1, it doesn't record the guitar it's just a horrible feedback loop noise..

Any ideas of what i could be doing wrong here?

Cheers
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18113
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Re-Amping Guitar

Wed Mar 03, 2021 10:14 am

The output of an interface is line level. A guitar input is instrument level, which has different impedance.
The impedance mismatch creates the horrible sound you're hearing.

You need this:

https://www.radialeng.com/product/extc-sa
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
Cristianp
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:57 pm
Location: London

Re: Re-Amping Guitar

Sat Mar 06, 2021 6:15 am

Hi mate,

I actually managed to make this work in the end without the Reamp box, I had to work around the level mismatch but I restarted my system and made sure that the output was unmuted on Focusrite Control and it worked :)
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18113
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Re-Amping Guitar

Sat Mar 06, 2021 2:34 pm

Good to hear, but you still have an impedance mismatch that can only be solved with the appropriate DI box.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com