A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Mar 25, 2021 1:15 pm

the mp3 is sped up
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Mar 25, 2021 1:19 pm

By how much? Twice the speed? Only a little?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Mar 25, 2021 1:57 pm

I would say a little more than twice the speed. And this comes up:
Screenshot 2021-03-25 at 21.56.23.png
Screenshot 2021-03-25 at 21.56.23.png (28.77 KiB) Viewed 857 times


I wanna add that, when I hear the audio file from the project files it sounds fine. Only once dragged in the track it speeds up.
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:34 pm

Make sure your tempo is set to KEEP before you import the file.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:02 am

jap, it has been in KEEP all this time
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-03-26 at 10.01.15.png
Screenshot 2021-03-26 at 10.01.15.png (5.59 KiB) Viewed 808 times
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18655
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Fri Mar 26, 2021 6:52 am

Gianni_Gon wrote:
I did follow the instructions above, from triplet, importing through the project files. Pressing F and then dragging in.


Don't drag.
After pressing F, press Control-F to select the file manually. This way you can preview the file as well to see if it speeds up already.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Fri Mar 26, 2021 8:07 am

In the preview the file works fine.
Do you mean ctrl + select the file? Cause when I press ctrl+F nothing happens. And when I press ctrl. + select the file, this option appears: "Add selected audio files to project audio", which is the same as righ-clicking.
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Fri Mar 26, 2021 1:19 pm

Gianni_Gon wrote:
jap, it has been in KEEP all this time

What does "jap" mean exactly??

Can you share your Smart Tempo settings?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18655
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Fri Mar 26, 2021 6:39 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
What does "jap" mean exactly??


An interpretation for yup?
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
facej
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Mar 27, 2021 5:55 pm

spelled in some circles as "yawp", "yuppers", or the ubiquitous "uh-huh"
Logic Pro X 10.4.8, 10.5.1, Logic Pro 10.6.2
OS X 10.15.7, macOS 11.4
iMac19,1 27" - 3.6 GHz Intel 8 Core i9 - 40GB memory - MacBook Air - 3.2 GHz M1 - 16GB memory - 1TB SSD
Behringer XR18 - Behringer X-Touch - iPad Pro 10.5" iOS 14.5
Logic Pro Command of the Day
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18655
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Mar 27, 2021 9:18 pm

Gianni_Gon wrote:
In the preview the file works fine.
Do you mean ctrl + select the file? Cause when I press ctrl+F nothing happens. And when I press ctrl. + select the file, this option appears: "Add selected audio files to project audio", which is the same as righ-clicking.


F to open the audio files window
Control-F to bring up the add audio file window
Look for the file and then select it
Click on add
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Apr 03, 2021 11:38 am

Im kind of in a hurry, cause I gotta submit 4 songs in 1 1/2 weeks. So I might just leave it like that. I have followed all the instructions, but nothing seems to work. I just gonna leave it in standby for now, at least until Im done with producing the missing elements of the remaining 3 songs.
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
JakobP
Posts: 2078
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Apr 03, 2021 1:48 pm

Gianni_Gon wrote:
...I have followed all the instructions, but nothing seems to work...

David asked a week ago about your smart tempo settings, it could be this setting that's messing with you, make sure you have it off:
Smart Tempo Off.png
Smart Tempo Off.png (279.99 KiB) Viewed 585 times
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Wed Apr 14, 2021 12:40 pm

Hi there

"set imported audio files to" was "On" indeed. I turned it off and as a result my mp3 went from a) left to b) right

Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.28.44.png
Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.28.44.png (5.85 KiB) Viewed 486 times

(see below for the original size)

_____
I followed these instructions as well:

"F to open the audio files window
Control-F to bring up the add audio file window
Look for the file and then select it
Click on add"

As a result I got this:
Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.32.05.png
Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.32.05.png (32.96 KiB) Viewed 486 times



I never thought that this impairment of importing mp3 files would strike back at the very last minute before having to deliver. I need to figuer out a way to import this mp3 file, unchanged. Here a demonstration of how it should look. On the very left.
This is not 100% accurate since the left verision is a 1/7 longer (extended) than the mp3 I want to import. Should be similarly long though.

Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.35.52.png
Screenshot 2021-04-14 at 21.35.52.png (8.35 KiB) Viewed 486 times
Last edited by Gianni_Gon on Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18655
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:06 pm

Logic converts all compressed files like mp3 and aac to wav or aiff depending on your recording settings.
So whatever you drag over from the Audio Files window is not an mp3 anymore.
So I don't understand why you get that Logic dialog that the file doesn't exist anymore.
It's obvious it doesn't exist anymore because it got converted to PCM format.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Wed Apr 14, 2021 11:51 pm

Additionally, keep in mind that mp3 is a format destined for final distribution, not production. For production you should work with PCM formats.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Apr 15, 2021 3:21 am

You are right. Im making an exception only here. Cause I really need this mp3.
How can I import it?
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Thu Apr 15, 2021 4:58 am

Gianni_Gon wrote:
You are right. Im making an exception only here. Cause I really need this mp3.
How can I import it?

Use audio routing software to re-record the file in real time?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Gianni_Gon
Topic Author
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:03 am

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:24 am

Unfortunately I couldnt figuer out how to do the routing. I didnt find much info about it in the internet.
So at the end I just made some technical improvements to the song in order to get the result I wanted.
Catalina 10.15.4
2,2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Importing audio file in Logic

Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:51 am

You need 3rd party software to do the routing. I use Loopback when I need to route audio in between applications: https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM