Clipping / Skipping While Recording

gwick2400

First off, I am just getting started with Logic Pro X (10.4.0). I am currently just trying to record vocals and so only have one track dedicated to vocals. My problem is the recording has randoms clicks and skips. It is almost like the recording stops recording for a milisecond here and there and so the recording is missing words. I have watched the "recording line" during recording and it is smooth and slow and doesn't stop or skip.

I have tried recording multiple times and it is happening with every take. I have tried: 1. adjusting the i/o buffer speed from 32 up to 512 and it still happens, 2. restarting the computer 3. Creating new logic session 4. Monitored CPU meter during the clips/skips and getting almost no elevation in the meter

-LapTop Specs: Mac Book Pro 2012, 2.3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB

-Using Presonus Audiobox USB 96 with Rode NT1a mic

I really appreciate the help!

Ok so that machine should handle a simple vocal recording without any issues, so let's start running some tests.

The first one I would try is to disconnect the Presonus from the Mac. In Logic's audio preferences, set your devices to built-in microphone and connect headphones to your Mac. Now try to do a vocal recording with your Mac's built-in microphone. Do you have the same issue?

Hey David, thanks for the help, I really appreciate it! So I tried 2 things. I updated Logic Pro and that didn't solve the issue when still using my presonus and mic. I then did what you suggested and unplugged the prosonus and then plugged in my apple headphones/ mic that came with my iphone into to my laptop. I did two test recordings and neither had the issues that I previously had. So what does this mean?