A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
mikeaudio
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:06 pm

CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:10 pm

Hey Guys,

I recently purchased an M1 Mini and Logic 10.6. I've been having recurring, seemingly random issues with the CPU overloading - performing tasks that my old 2012 Mini could do with both hands tied behind it's back. Before you ask - I am experiencing this when using NO plugins, with a single digit track count, let alone when using native plugins, or heaven forbid, a Waves plugin or two. The problems aren't constant - it seems to be an issue from time to time that just goes away on it's own without explanation. The problem persists when other apps are open, or when Logic is the only game in town, and restarting the machine or creating a new project offers no relief. Anyone else experience this, and do you have a workaround? I want to throw this thing in a lake, I feel like a total sucker for adopting this new machine while clearly the tech is still in it's infancy.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Fri Mar 26, 2021 12:55 am

I would open Activity monitor and monitor the activity of your CPU (and other resources as well) while you're working to try to determine what app/process/task is bringing the M1 to its knees.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
mikeaudio
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Fri Mar 26, 2021 5:09 pm

It seems Logic won't use more than 2 processing threads, regardless of what I sent it to. In addition to this, my Interface seems to be running through Rosetta in spite of the fact that it's class compliant. I wonder if theres a way to force Logic to use the CPU more effectively, but this clearly isn't intended behavior.
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 6284
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: new york
Contact:

Re: CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Sat Mar 27, 2021 6:16 am

contact apple; you've got applecare (for at least a year).

this is not normal behavior (altho, if you do decide to throw the mini in the lake, let me PM you my address instead). something's up, and i'd let apple sort it out...
LP10.6.3 • os12b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
facej
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Sat Mar 27, 2021 5:53 pm

If your interface is "running through Rosetta" then you need to make Logic run in Rosetta mode. Any other choice will give you bad/bizarre behavior.

What interface is "running through Rosetta"?
Logic Pro X 10.4.8, 10.5.1, Logic Pro 10.6.2
OS X 10.15.7, macOS 11.4
iMac19,1 27" - 3.6 GHz Intel 8 Core i9 - 40GB memory - MacBook Air - 3.2 GHz M1 - 16GB memory - 1TB SSD
Behringer XR18 - Behringer X-Touch - iPad Pro 10.5" iOS 14.5
Logic Pro Command of the Day
 
User avatar
johnnytucats
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:31 pm

Re: CPU Constantly Overloading on M1 Mini

Sun Mar 28, 2021 2:26 pm

facej wrote:
If your interface is "running through Rosetta" then you need to make Logic run in Rosetta mode. Any other choice will give you bad/bizarre behavior.


I've seen someone say that about having anything that needs Rosetta in one of the YouTube videos I've watched on Logic/M1.
Logic Pro 10.5.1
macOS 10.14.6