A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
johnnyconatus
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:14 pm

Saving Custom Producer Drum Kits

Thu Apr 15, 2021 9:27 am

I understand how to save a preset and a channel strip setting, but how does one reuse a producer kit with customized child tracks (ex. new fxs, panning) as well as tweaks inside the drum designer? Can this be done with one saved setting/preset?

In the attached screenshot of project B, I can see the saved channel setting from Project A but I had to import the tracks to get into Project B. And then I still had to fix the buses.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-04-15 at 12.24.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-15 at 12.24.52 PM.png (1.67 MiB) Viewed 290 times
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9579
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Saving Custom Producer Drum Kits

Thu Apr 15, 2021 2:07 pm

Try the following:
  • Open the mixer pane (US default kc: X)
  • In the mixer, (if not already showing) reveal the channelstrips contained in your drums master channelstrip stack, using the small triangle arrow at the bottom of that master channelstrip (in your case the OMC... one).
  • Select the 1st channelstrip following that OMC master channelstrip (in your case, it should be the one named Overhead). That channelstrip's Input slot should appears as Drum Kit.
  • Now in the Inspector's channelstrip (between the library and the tracks) ensure that the little library indicator triangle arrow is pointing at the Overhead slot. You will notice that the library is now displaying the Drum Kits library (instead of the Drummer's one).
  • At the very bottom of the library click on the Save... button.
  • If you have already created a custom percussion location folder, navigate to that desired location, type a desired significant name for that percussion patche and click on the blue Save button (of the finder window) to complete the operation.
LogicPro 10.6.2, MainStage3.5.2
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
johnnyconatus
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:14 pm

Re: Saving Custom Producer Drum Kits

Fri Apr 16, 2021 9:32 am

Thank you for the response but that only saves the Drum Kit. Added fx or buses are not added when the custom drum kit patch is reloaded.
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9579
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Saving Custom Producer Drum Kits

Fri Apr 16, 2021 6:34 pm

If you add Auxes (via Busses), make sure that those have their outputs set to the master channelstrip's input; in order to have them included in the newly saved patch.
And in such case, select the master channelstrip's Setting slot as the target patch to be saved instead of the Overhead Drum Kit one. (In your posted example: Neo Soul +),
LogicPro 10.6.2, MainStage3.5.2
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear