A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
kovacs_miki
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 2:20 am

Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:11 am

Just curious if anyone knows this. On an M1 mac when running logic through rosetta, if I load plugins that have native M1 versions (like fabfilter nexus) are they loading the apple silicon version, or they running the intel one, since logic is running the intel version..?
Logic Pro 10.6
Mac Mini M1 16gb ram
2017 15' MacBook Pro
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7334
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:17 am

Good question, I'm curious too. I wonder if there are any plugins that are M1 only - if there are, and they also work under Rosetta2, then that is your answer
Last edited by Eriksimon on Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

MacBook Pro 13" M1 8GB RAM/miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/HackBook Lenovo E530 i5 2.6 GHz 8 GB/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.1/AKG P120/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/Behringer BA 85A/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149/M-Audio Keystation Mini 32 mk3
 
kovacs_miki
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 2:20 am

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:19 am

Yes that's be a quick way to answer but unfortunately i doubt there's a plugin like that.
Logic Pro 10.6
Mac Mini M1 16gb ram
2017 15' MacBook Pro
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5331
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:27 am

I think plugins are spawned as separate processes now, so you might be able to see in Activity Monitor which architecture is running from a loaded plugin perhaps?
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
kovacs_miki
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 2:20 am

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 2:30 am

Yes a tried that, but couldn't find them as a separate process in activity monitor :(
Logic Pro 10.6
Mac Mini M1 16gb ram
2017 15' MacBook Pro
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:52 am

kovacs_miki wrote:
Just curious if anyone knows this. On an M1 mac when running logic through rosetta, if I load plugins that have native M1 versions (like fabfilter nexus) are they loading the apple silicon version, or they running the intel one, since logic is running the intel version..?


Important
The system prevents you from mixing arm64 code and x86_64 code in the same process. Rosetta translation applies to an entire process, including all code modules that the process loads dynamically.

More info here...
https://developer.apple.com/documentation/apple-silicon/about-the-rosetta-translation-environment

Once you specify Logic to run in Rosetta 2, only Intel plug-ins get loaded.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.4 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5331
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:56 am

Yes, but I thought they changed plugin handling in Logic *specifically* because of this. In the same way, people have said that running Logic ARM-natively can still load Intel plugins - precisely because the plugins are moved to their own process, so you *can* mix architectures.

That's what I understood, from user reports (don't have an ARM Mac so don't know directly.) but prehaps someone that does have one can answer definitively...
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1005
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 4:12 am

des99 wrote:
Yes, but I thought they changed plugin handling in Logic *specifically* because of this. In the same way, people have said that running Logic ARM-natively can still load Intel plugins - precisely because the plugins are moved to their own process, so you *can* mix architectures.

That's not what the OP is asking.
They want to know if a x86_64 app can load arm64 plug-ins. The answer is no.
Once you're in x86_64, it's only x86_64.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.4 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5331
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:04 am

Ok, thanks for the confirmation. And running natively, you can load both ARM and Intel plugins?
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 6185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: new york
Contact:

Re: Logic Rosetta / native plugins

Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:11 am

yes, running natively, intel plugins load thru rosetta2, and arm plugins load directly.

am wondering when rosetta2 will end (2 years perhaps?) and wondering which plugins i'll lose when that happens. but for now, seems a good place to be.
LP10.6.2 • os11.5b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com