"xx" meaning in MIDI track

Reddington

What are MIDI System Exclusive events?

My apologies, I'm still fairly new to Logic and DAWs in general.

MIDI is a language that encodes things into messages - there are different messages depending on the type of event that happened - there are Note events, Control events, Program Change events, timing events and various other ones. System Exclusive messages are one type of MIDI event that manufacturers can use for their own purposes - typically, for editing parameters, sending dumps of voice data and so on.

System Exclusive messages are one type of MIDI event that manufacturers can use for their own purposes - typically, for editing parameters, sending dumps of voice data and so on.

Note that in theory they're supposed to be standard, and not be exclusive to a specific manufacturer (that isn't the case in real life), according to the MIDI spec at least:

Universal System Exclusive Messages are defined as Real Time or Non-Real Time, and are used for extensions to MIDI that are NOT intended to be manufacturer exclusive (despite the name).

Oh goodness, lol.

I think that's a little advanced for me at this point.

Thank you guys so much for answering my question though!

Do you know how they landed in your MIDI region? Did you record that MIDI region yourself? You can always open the region in the Event List to look for those events, and delete them if you don't want them there:

600477178_EventList.png.cf0c5f9d79350908d3ac394c177e339e.png

System Exclusive messages are one type of MIDI event that manufacturers can use for their own purposes - typically, for editing parameters, sending dumps of voice data and so on.

Note that in theory they're supposed to be standard, and not be exclusive to a specific manufacturer (that isn't the case in real life), according to the MIDI spec at least: