A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Reddington
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:27 pm

Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Tue May 04, 2021 12:53 pm

Hey!
Say your project is in the key of C major and you wanna use a sample from Splice that’s not in that key. If you drag that sample into your Logic project, will Logic change the key to the key that the project is already in? Or will it not be able to change the key of the Splice sample?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84783
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Wed May 05, 2021 12:33 am

It depends on the format of the sample but most likely Logic won't change its key. You can change the Transpose parameter in the Region inspector:

Transpose.png
Transpose.png (13.41 KiB) Viewed 220 times


You could also consider adding the loop to your Untagged Loops.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Reddington
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:27 pm

Re: Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Wed May 05, 2021 5:27 am

Thanks!
What will adding the sample to my untagged loops do?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84783
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Wed May 05, 2021 5:33 am

Reddington wrote:
Thanks!
What will adding the sample to my untagged loops do?

Give you an easy access to the samples, and make them follow the project key and tempo.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Reddington
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:27 pm

Re: Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Wed May 05, 2021 2:37 pm

Oh nice! How do I add the samples to untagged loops? I actually haven’t heard of untagged loops before either.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84783
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Splice Sample Keys Into Logic

Wed May 05, 2021 11:58 pm

You can just drag and drop your sample to the Untagged Loop browser.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM