A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
stldrum
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:54 pm

MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 8:47 am

Is there a way in Logic to map my mallet percussion controller to play different MIDI notes than what it is sending through MIDI? I want to change the layout of my controller but doing it on the controller is less than ideal and involves creating user preset kits.

I have seen NoteMatrix 2, but this works only for Kontakt and I would like this to work for any software synth inside Logic including Omnisphere, Falcon or anything else I use.

Am I over thinking this? Seems like this should be easy to do but I can't wrap my head around it.

The controller does not connect through USB - it is MIDI into my Presonus audio interface.

Thx!!
 
gacki
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:18 am

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 12:32 pm

There are probably lots of different ways to do it; one possible approach would be to use the Scripter MIDI plugin for this. This of course would (usually) mean that Logic still receives and records the regular data from your controller, but remaps it before it reaches the plugin. You'd probably have to write a simple script for this, though.
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3281
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 12:59 pm

I recommend you use an environment mapped instrument. This will let you map input midi notes to output midi notes. Additionally you can insert an environment object like this both in front of or after the sequencer...so you could record the remapped notes or the original notes, whichever way you prefer.

Screen Shot 2021-05-06 at 1.58.02 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-05-06 at 1.58.02 PM.jpg (165.38 KiB) Viewed 326 times


Otherwise, yes you could certainly do it in Scripter, but that seems harder to me. (and I'm the ultimate Scripter nerd)
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
gacki
Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:18 am

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 1:11 pm

Dewdman42 wrote:
I recommend you use an environment mapped instrument. This will let you map input midi notes to output midi notes.

That's certainly sound advice. I'm probably more fixated on Scripter because of Mainstage (which has no environment).
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3281
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 1:18 pm

I can be done with Script in MainStage of course. MainStage might have a built in way to do it without Scripter, I'm not sure....and also there might be a dedicated AUmfx plugin out there for remapping notes...but I'm not sure right now
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Thu May 06, 2021 1:27 pm

stldrum wrote:
Is there a way in Logic to map my mallet percussion controller to play different MIDI notes than what it is sending through MIDI? I want to change the layout of my controller but doing it on the controller is less than ideal and involves creating user preset kits.

I have seen NoteMatrix 2, but this works only for Kontakt and I would like this to work for any software synth inside Logic including Omnisphere, Falcon or anything else I use.

Am I over thinking this? Seems like this should be easy to do but I can't wrap my head around it.

The controller does not connect through USB - it is MIDI into my Presonus audio interface.

Thx!!

I posted 2 solutions here
https://www.logicprohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=157383
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.4 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
stldrum
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Fri May 07, 2021 6:54 am

Thanks for all the suggestions - I did find a plugin called NoteMatrix2 but I will try the ideas above first!
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3281
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Fri May 07, 2021 9:23 am

Note matrix is interesting! But be advised it runs in kontakt, probably as a multi script but not sure. But anyway logicpro doesn’t have a straightforward way to route midi from kontakt to other instruments.

The script above sits in aumfx slot so easily usable with any instrument. You can setup a map for each Instrument and Re-save the script preset under different names, the scripter GUI control values will be remembered for each one of those scripter preset variations. I think this will serve you better and it’s free!
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
stldrum
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Fri May 07, 2021 9:29 am

I am going to try the way inside logic first with the mapped instrument as what I want to do should be fairly simple. I just need to see how I can save the mapping and then reuse it over and over for any software instrument i want. Looks simple but I have to dive into it!
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3281
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Fri May 07, 2021 9:32 am

Like i said, adjust the controls on the scripter GUI and then re-save it as a new scripter preset with a new name. The GUI control values are saved along with the script itself in each preset
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
stldrum
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: MIDI Mapping Help

Fri May 07, 2021 9:38 am

Excellent!