A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:56 am

It affects the sound, yes.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Mon Jun 14, 2021 10:20 am

Hum... I will have to investigate some more, because on some electric piano tracks it does not seem to change the sound if I delete the notes in double, so I guess it depends of what type of sounds are doubled.

I will close the topic.

Thanks for your precious help, David !
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1080
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Mon Jun 14, 2021 7:57 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
Great! Good to hear we got to the bottom of it. :)

I can't think of an easy way to get rid of the doubled notes. One way that would work at least if you don't have tons of them, is to open the Piano Roll, click a note, Shift-click more notes, then press Delete.

It's Option+d
I know because I use it all the time. :mrgreen:
01 24notes.png
01 24notes.png (52.92 KiB) Viewed 819 times

02 DeleteDuplicates.png
02 DeleteDuplicates.png (122.75 KiB) Viewed 819 times

03 12notes.png
03 12notes.png (54.21 KiB) Viewed 819 times
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 6:09 am

YESSS !

This is great, I had the feeling this function or command should be somewhere !

Thanks so much, you took the time to check this thread even if it was closed ! This forum is so just fantastic !

Have a very good day !
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 7:16 am

ValliSoftware wrote:
It's Option+d

Valli for the win! Thanks! That's great, I didn't know or forgot about that key command. I see it's simply called Delete Duplicated MIDI Events.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 10:22 am

Valli :

Well, I was happy but now that I've tried it, it does not work for me. What am I doing wrong ?

1. I select the notes. As you can see, 11 notes are visible but 22 notes are selected because under every note, there is the same identical note, making it 22.

Screen 03.png
Screen 03.png (209.34 KiB) Viewed 752 times


2. I delete the duplicate MIDI events.

screen 02.png
screen 02.png (710.44 KiB) Viewed 752 times


3. I still have 22 notes left.

Screen 01.png
Screen 01.png (296.46 KiB) Viewed 752 times


???

I tried it many times, with different regions and songs, it never works for me.

I'm under Big Sur, with Logic Pro 10.6.2.

Thanks for helping me some more !
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 10:42 am

Can we see a screenshot of the events in the Event List?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:03 pm

Here are screenshots of the piano roll and the event list. I just did again the delete midi events duplicates command, but they are still there.

Life is a big mystery !

Duplicates have identical data in the event list, except for the last column, which seems to be « info ». What are these numbers in the last column : 91/89, 117/115, ...

Capture d’écran, le 2021-06-15 à 14.54.12.png
Capture d’écran, le 2021-06-15 à 14.54.12.png (372.76 KiB) Viewed 722 times


Capture d’écran, le 2021-06-15 à 14.54.21.png
Capture d’écran, le 2021-06-15 à 14.54.21.png (500.03 KiB) Viewed 722 times
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:07 pm

The notes have different positions so they're not exact duplicates.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:17 pm

Hum, you've got good eyes, David. I did not notice that the last number of the position was slightly different, probably because going through the MIDI interface is slightly slower than going directly to the Mac through USB.

Is there some king of a « Set duration to... » command for MIDI notes ? I can't find such a thing, it could be useful for me...

Thanks David for your generosity.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:21 pm

Bebop26 wrote:
Is there some king of a « Set duration to... » command for MIDI notes ? I can't find such a thing, it could be useful for me...

Can you start a new topic for this new question? And add a few details regarding what you're trying to do?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
JakobP
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:39 pm

You could quantize the notes first to e.g. 1/32 and then try the command, After deletion turn quantize off again...
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85231
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:47 pm

JakobP wrote:
You could quantize the notes first to e.g. 1/32 and then try the command, After deletion turn quantize off again...

Now that's clever. ;)
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:48 pm

Very good idea, Jakob, thanks.l

David, if I need more help on this, I'll start a new topic.

Thanks again Jakob, David, and the others before.
 
JakobP
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:49 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
JakobP wrote:
You could quantize the notes first to e.g. 1/32 and then try the command, After deletion turn quantize off again...

Now that's clever. ;)

:D Thanks David !
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1080
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:02 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
The notes have different positions so they're not exact duplicates.

+1

If the positions are off a hair but you know you want them to be at a certain beat, quantize first, then do option+d

This sounds even crazy, but you could create a script that receives a note-on and saves that and if you get another note-on without a note-off of the same note, discard those incoming same notes until you receive a note-off. The MIDI region would still contain the duplicates but no duplicates will get played.
In order to clear the duplicates you'd have to put on a External Instrument the Midi Region and your script and go thru IAC to MIDI record, then you'd have a non-duplicate notes.
This is incase you don't want to quantize your events. Yes, I do this all the time as well.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 1:10 pm

Sorry, but can I ask a last question in this topic, because I think that it is related to what has been discussed here.

What is exactly that last number of the last column in the event list window ? After quantizing, all the data of the duplicates is really identical now, except for the last number of the last column of the event list. So... even after quantization, my duplicates are not really duplicates.

Do the numbers of the last column, specially the last number, express the lenght of the note ? If so, then the numbers should be identical after quantization, isn't it ?
 
JakobP
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:19 pm

The numbers in the last column represents midi ticks, quote from the manual:
"tick
The smallest unit of timing resolution in a MIDI sequencer. In Logic Pro, this equals 1/3840 of a note."
On your screenshot the notes is only off by one tick in position and two ticks in length, so I tried with 4 ticks off both in position and length, and it works here...
Delete duplicates.gif
Delete duplicates.gif (1.04 MiB) Viewed 614 times
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
Bebop26
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:56 pm
Location: Rosemère, QC, Canada.

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:37 pm

Thanks, Jakob !
 
JakobP
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: MIDI notes recorded « in double »

Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:40 pm

You're welcome Bebop :) So you got it working ?
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard