General MIDI question DIN/USB

kncar77

Hello.

I'm new to the world of MIDI and it's more than a little confusing.

I've got multiple pedals (Line 6 HX stomp, Eventide Time/Pitch/H9) and a keyboard plus a Behringer Xtouch, all connected via USB.

My audio interface is a Focusrite Clarett 8Pre (thunderbolt) and I've got a Kemper Amplifier. I'm trying to get everything to play together for tap tempo and program changes etc but can't figure out how to go about it.

Afaik Kemper doesn't support midi over USB so that one I need to be hooked up with DIN cables, but to what device? If I understand it correctly the Eventide boxes are either DIN or USB, bot not both at the same time.

So my thought was to have two DIN (in/out) between the Kemper and the Focusrite, have all devices set to Channel 1 and then off to planet Mars but it's not playing ball.

Do I need a specific MIDI controller or can I route everything within Audio MIDI setup in System preferences somehow?

I.e, if you've got say 10 different MIDI devices hooked up via USB, are they suppose to be able to communicate with each other as long as they are on the same channel?

For example, I've got an expression pedal for the HX stomp, Mission EP1-L6 which doesn't work hooked up directly to Kemper, only to Line 6 (TS vs TRS issue I believe). If I connect the HX Stomp with the Kemper via MIDI DIN-cable I've been able to use it as an expression pedal for Kemper (Wah) by sending CC1 out of HX stomp. But without the DIN I can't get them to communicate even if the Kemper is connected with DINs to the Focusrite interface. Isn't that possible?

So at the moment HX stomp -> Kemper (MIDI through) -> Clarett.

The light on the Clarett is lit up suggesting it senses MIDI in

Next issue, in logic pro x I create a new external MIDI track, ch 1, hit record but no midi data is being recorded.

What am I missing?

Probably something trivial but I can't figure it out.

Cheers