Environments?

grumblepig

Hi all - I've been using Logic daily since 2020, at least, but have mostly settled into using it the way I know how to use it, if that makes sense. Once in a while I stumble upon something I've zero idea about... the other day I hit a "wrong" button and opened up the Environments panel. First of all, what is Environments and second, how did I open it?

Screen shot attached...

Thanks!

367524197_ScreenShot2021-10-15at10_47_44PM.thumb.png.6bc511aa46eb02b8f2fbfc84d6d80424.png

You opened it by pressing Command-0.

Quick answer: The Environment is your virtual studio in Logic Pro, it allows you to route and process MIDI data, and organize your audio objects. It also allows you to perform all sorts of manipulations within Logic, some of which can be found in our "Environment" forum right here: Logic Pro & MainStage Templates and Environments

Not forgetting there is a manual that explains these functions in Logic, in quite an accessible way. You don't have to go in deep, but a quick read of the intro chapters will tell you what it is, and give you an idea whether it's a set of features you might find interesting or not:-

https://support.apple.com/en-ca/guide/logicpro/lgcpf755dc51/mac

David and des99 - thanks for the replies. I'm a "sometimes the manual" kinda fellow, but I do enjoy the human touch of the Logic group here.

des99 - are you directly involved with the mu:zines biz? I'm waiting to see the issue of One Two Testing with a review of my teenage cassette pop up!! I loved that mag back in the day and was thrilled to get my first "foreign" press there!

des99 - are you directly involved with the mu:zines biz?

Yes, it's my site/project. 8-)

I'm waiting to see the issue of One Two Testing with a review of my teenage cassette pop up!! I loved that mag back in the day and was thrilled to get my first "foreign" press there!