A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
brein
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:02 pm

Recording midi notes from the Piano Roll to the sequencer

Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:06 pm

Hi,
is it possibile to record midi notes in the sequencer playing the Piano Roll ? As if playing an external midi keyboard or the virtual pc-keyboard logic displays when you press caps-lock ?
If it isn't , there are other ways to record from virtual keyboard similar to the piano roll one (or the ones in many soft synthesizer) midi note in the logic seq ?
Thanks in advance
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84604
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:29 pm

Press the caps lock key! :wink:
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
brein
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:02 pm

 

Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:02 pm

David wrote:
Press the caps lock key! :wink:


If i press the caps lock i get the keyboard representation with the midi notes attached to the pc keyboard, i knew this but i'd like to use something
visually similar to the piano roll (graphical piano style keys horizontal or vertical and, if possibile, the sequencer at the side or bottom).
Thanks
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84604
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:06 pm

Window > Environment, and in the Click and Ports layer, use the Input keyboard.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
brein
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:02 pm

 

Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:10 am

David wrote:
Window > Environment, and in the Click and Ports layer, use the Input keyboard.


Thank you !!
 
User avatar
Roger
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:56 pm

 

Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:18 pm

Is it possible on piano roll, to see pressed key, like on input keyboard?
When i press key on my midi keyboard, on piano roll I cant see which key is pressed, but on input keyboard there is shown.
iMac 27" late 2015 | 4.00 GHz i7 | 32GB | OS X 10.15.4 | Logic Pro X 10.4.8 | FF800 | Nova | SPL 2381 | Luna II | MC TRANSPORT | HR824 | MSP5A | MAX49 | nanoKONTROL2 | nanoPAD2 | LPD8 | LPK 25 | MX1000 | diNovo |
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84604
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:27 pm

Unfortunately no, it's not possible.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Roger
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:56 pm

 

Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:30 pm

Thnx.

I hope this will be implemented in some of the future versions.
iMac 27" late 2015 | 4.00 GHz i7 | 32GB | OS X 10.15.4 | Logic Pro X 10.4.8 | FF800 | Nova | SPL 2381 | Luna II | MC TRANSPORT | HR824 | MSP5A | MAX49 | nanoKONTROL2 | nanoPAD2 | LPD8 | LPK 25 | MX1000 | diNovo |
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84604
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:39 pm

It would be nice. :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM