View sorted kit sounds in Ultrabeat?

bluesnfire401

Hello,

I'm still learning Logic and am more familiar with Reason. When using Redrum, Reason's drum machine, there is this wonderful feature/folder that contains all the individual drum sounds from each drum kit, e.g. all the kick drum sounds from all the Redrum drum kits together in one place. I love this feature because it allows you to quickly search through all the sounds at your disposal for just one voice, such as your kick drum.

In Logic's Ultrabeat, it seems like the "Drum Bank" folder would serve a similar function, but it appears it does not, or at least not as comprehensively. There are far more than 25 preset kits in Ultrabeat, each with its own set of snare, kick, hat sounds etc. Yet when I load, for example the Acoustic Kick Drum folder into the import window, I'm given only 25 kick drum samples to work with. Is there a way to view all the sounds from all the Ultrabeat kits, but sorted into the various different types like, snare, hi hat, kick drum, etc? It seems almost impossible to really figure out what sounds you have at your disposal without such a feature. Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

Click on Import.

Navigate to:

Macintosh HD/Application Support/Logic/Plug-In Settings/Ultrabeat

All of the UltraBeat sound are there. However, remember that UB uses a combination of samples and synth settings to create most of it's sounds -not just samples. So in order for you to find those "combined" settings, you have to import the Plug-In Settings files (.pst). And then, audition them in the import buffer window.. and if you like them, drag them to voice assignment where you want them to appear in the assignment window.

Hope this helps!

Click on Import.

Navigate to:

Macintosh HD/Application Support/Logic/Plug-In Settings/Ultrabeat