Midi output via Bouncing

JStuart

Hello All;

I am new to this recording thing so bare with me . . . I'm a drummer use to acoustic things!

I am utilizing Logic Express and an Apple Power Book G4; I am attempting to Bounce a simple song (2 audio tracks and one midi track via my Roland TD-20 thru a Tascam US-122) into an mp3. When attempting to bounce everything "appears" to proceed properly. When I listen back to the mp3 I only hear the audio recording but no drum/midi tracks. Any solutions or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any assistance! :roll:

gdoubleyou,

Yes that makes sense. I guess my question is ultimately how to record the output of the midi track to an audio track via my Roland TD-20? I have been looking / working through Martin Sitter's Logic Pro & Express 7 book and cannot seem to find the solution. Any thougts?

Thanks also for your reply!

my question is ultimately how to record the output of the midi track to an audio track via my Roland TD-20

You need to make sure you have the Audio Outputs of your TD-20 cabled into Audio Inputs on your US-122. Then you can record Audio Tracks in Logic, with their input set to those very inputs. So you will be playing Logic, which will send the MIDI data to your TD-20, while recording its Audio Outputs on separate Audio Tracks.

David,

First, thanks for your assistance! Second, still no luck! This time I simply created a new file and recorded a drum track utilizing my TD-20 via an audio track (track 1). Everything appeared fine and on play back everything sounded great. Then when I attempted to bounce that file to an mp3; I hear the drum part being played as the system (realtime) loads it but when I go to listen - nothing! I did notice in the bottom portion of the Bounce "Output 1-2" dialogue box that there was a statement to the effect no data or output? So clearly I am still doing something wrong :evil: !

Any thoughts or perspectives -- thanks in advance for your assistance!!