A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
musick
Topic Author
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: This part of the Galaxy

CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:10 am

See a very strange thing (think since I installed 9.1.7): On a several pretty small/simple sessions I see intermittent the CPU load going to 100% on one of the 8 cores, sometimes to the point that the audio crackles.
But this only happens when Arange window is visible, when I select the mixer window the load stays very low (as expected). When a Arange window is opened on top of the mixer (CMD-1) the load on one CPU suddenly starts to 'pulse'... Anybody else sees this?
Thanks in advance.

PS: No AU instruments are in those sessions that could be in 'Live mode'...
Mac Pro 8 Core 10.7.3, Mac Book Air, Logic 9.1.7, PT10 HD Native, FF400, ADAM P22A, Waves Platinum, Stylus RMX, dotcom Modular, Moog Voyager, DSI Tempest, MC Mix
 
Janne
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:19 am

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:11 am

Im getting the same cpu spikes when scrolling in arrange mode. One core is overloading. If I take the focus of the arrange the overloads stop. Its in 64bit mode. I already experienced this in 9.16 but occasionally.

J
MP 8c 10.8.2 OS X 10.8, Logic Pro 9.1.7, Motu Ultralite
 
blinkofani
Posts: 869
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:36 am

Mmm, i opened several projects since i updated to 9.1.7 and didn't see any difference. Only had one of those projects that was overloading on first pass at a specific section in 9.1.6. Sure enough, it's still doing it in 9.1.7. So no better, no worse for me...

Blink
iMac 27"i5 24Gb ram, macOS10.14.6, LPX10.5.1, PT 2019.10 Nat., UA Arrow and Apogee One-Mac for mobile use, 12” Powerbook G4 1,5Ghz running LP7.1.1/8.0.2 on Tiger, UAD-2 Sat. Quad, LaCie SSD, Genelec 8040A, Korg Z1ex, DSI MophoDT, Korg KLC, Komplete 12, Omnisphere 1.5, Arturia MoogModular, Cakewalk Rapture Pro, LesPaul, Stratocaster & Telecaster.
 
User avatar
musick
Topic Author
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: This part of the Galaxy

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:51 am

Janne wrote:
Im getting the same cpu spikes when scrolling in arrange mode. One core is overloading. If I take the focus of the arrange the overloads stop. Its in 64bit mode. I already experienced this in 9.16 but occasionally.

J

Might be same problem then... Could be I also had it in 9.1.6 but did not notice, most of the time I've the 'mixer screenset' active so not play that often with Arange view.
Mac Pro 8 Core 10.7.3, Mac Book Air, Logic 9.1.7, PT10 HD Native, FF400, ADAM P22A, Waves Platinum, Stylus RMX, dotcom Modular, Moog Voyager, DSI Tempest, MC Mix
 
User avatar
lostmemories
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:01 pm

Hi, I noticed the same problem since 9.1.7, I'm using a dual core, one core overload, when the other is very low (2 or 3 %), I run in 32 bits mode, and the projects worked fine before the update, it seems 9.1.7 has problem with load balancing between cores.
MacBook Pro 16, macOS 10.15.x Catalina, Logic 10.4.x, Firewire Apogee Ensemble
-----
Music: http://music.laurentcolson.com
Development: http://dev.laurentcolson.com
 
User avatar
WagnerDerek
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:24 pm

i got the same issue with my mac pro 8 core , this is catastrophic when I use the piano/score roll with a large windows , looks like a video configuration or compatibility problem , when I scroll left /right or up / down , I normally hear some pop ups , but see the score in a full screen is painful , the cpu goes red quick
Macbook Pro core 2 duo 2.4 8g ram ,Mac pro 8 core 6 gig ram (yet) ,Apogee Ensemble , Logic 9.1.5
 
User avatar
musick
Topic Author
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: This part of the Galaxy

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:22 am

I see it while Arange is fully zoomed out, so no scrolling is taking place...
Mac Pro 8 Core 10.7.3, Mac Book Air, Logic 9.1.7, PT10 HD Native, FF400, ADAM P22A, Waves Platinum, Stylus RMX, dotcom Modular, Moog Voyager, DSI Tempest, MC Mix
 
guitonit
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:49 pm

I will have to check and see if it does the same thing for me in mix mode, but I am running into the same issue- one core maxed out and the other barely getting used. It is breaking up and dropping out on projects that previously it didn't even blink at before.

Scott A.
All the traits that make me good at my gig, make me unbearable to live with.

Logic Pro 10.0.6
MacBook Pro 2.7 Ghz i7 16 gig ram
UAD Apollo Duo w/Thunderbolt
 
guitonit
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:10 am

I was able to try a project today with and without the Arrange window open. With the Arrange closed, the usage of the one core does drop by about 10%, but it does not transfer any usage to the other core.

This problem isn't killing me at the moment, but I would like to get this solved. Any thoughts?

Scott A.
All the traits that make me good at my gig, make me unbearable to live with.

Logic Pro 10.0.6
MacBook Pro 2.7 Ghz i7 16 gig ram
UAD Apollo Duo w/Thunderbolt
 
Iana
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:25 am

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:29 am

Exactly same problem on i7 iMac, went from never having CPU issues to single core maxing out when using a single instrument and monitoring an audio input. Nothing I did resolved it , so went back via time machine to 9.1.6 and. Comp,etely sorted. Not touching this update.
 
iMacCartney
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 2:06 pm
Location: Lahti, Finland

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:56 am

I have the same problem with my MBP 17" early 2011 after 9.1.7. This gave me some help:

"Avoid having an Audio Instrument track selected in the Arrange. When an Audio Instrument track is highlighted, Logic must devote enough CPU resources to insure that anything you might play live into the track can be processed. When you are mixing, try to keep an Audio or classic MIDI track highlighted as you work. Only select an Audio Instrument track at times when you are actually working with that particular track."
https://soundcloud.com/splproject

Mac Pro 2.66 GHz 12-core, OSX 10.10.5 / OSX 10.95, Logic Pro Studio 9.1.8, Logic Pro X 10.2.2 / 10.2.1, Apogee Duet II, RME Babyface Blue, GA Project Pre-73MK2, 3U Audio Warbler MK IV, Genelec 1031A, Shure SRH 840, AKG K-240, 500 plug-ins...
 
Iana
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:25 am

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:02 pm

Yep, knew that but it still was unacceptable difference in core allocation from 9.1.6 to 9.1.7. I am sure Apple will be updating soon....
 
User avatar
musick
Topic Author
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: This part of the Galaxy

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:39 am

The problem disappared from the session I was seeing it on it's own (at least for now)....
Mac Pro 8 Core 10.7.3, Mac Book Air, Logic 9.1.7, PT10 HD Native, FF400, ADAM P22A, Waves Platinum, Stylus RMX, dotcom Modular, Moog Voyager, DSI Tempest, MC Mix
 
User avatar
furrytoes
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 7:55 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:45 am

I had a massive problem with CPU overloading on a project that was almost no problem with this, sometime after 9.1.7.
Suddenly it was so bad I couldn't get any work done - all hands on deck to reduce the CPU load.
A problem I've never had to deal with to this extent.

I didn't want to assume it was the update.
I also just bought Pro (up from Express, but which didn't change anything)

After getting ideas from this thread, I went to my audio preferences and changed the one I like to assume Logic knows better than me "Processing Threads"

I have 4 cores and I changed it from "Auto" to "4".

it went back to normal immediately. Barely any CPU overloads at all.
So now I feel a little smarter than Logic - for a tiny, weeny bit.
Logic Pro X 10.0.1, MacOSX 10.8.4, iMac i3 3.2Ghz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5670 512 MB, Audio-Technica ATH-M50 Monitor Headphones, Korg MicroKEY
 
steveastanga
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:24 am
Location: Chon Buri, Thailand

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:17 am

Some nice ideas here, but I've tried selecting a midi track and switching over from 'auto' to 8 processing threads, and I'm still getting intermittent but very disruptive spikes on one thread.

C'mon Apple ...
Logic Pro X
Mac Mini Server
Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
OSX Yosemite
 
janiq
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Poland

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:48 am

i can confirm there is a definite issue with arranger window. i am not sure how many of you tried to adjust automation manually but on my 30 tracks project when i switched into autmation mode and tried to do little bits suddenly logic just run out of memory and now i cant get this done cause it happens each time. hopefully they can get this sorted quick cause at the moment this app is unusable to me :(.
Logic Pro 10.3.1, mac mini 2012 2.3 ghz , 16 GB RAM, RME Fireface 400, Mytek Stereo96DAC, APS Klasik's, Avantone Mixcube
 
meismizz
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:29 am

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:34 am

Having massive problems with the new 9.1.7 update. CPU load is crazy compared to 9.1.6 and also the GUI is freezing when playing the session. Tracks plays normally but the whole of the interface just freezes. Hope this gets fixed soon
 
Ricey
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:37 am
Location: São Paulo/ NYC

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:40 am

i've installed Software updates yesterday(Logic 9.1.7 included).
afraid to reboot now! i do have the system drive backed up though...

I want to know if the issue is OS-related - i'm on 10.6.8 and running in 32 bit mode - where's everyone else?
OS 10.6.8 LP 9.1.6
MBP Dual 2.8 gHz
MIO 2882+DSP
 
User avatar
bugscoe
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:01 am
Contact:

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:33 am

Having similar issues with 9.1.7.

This current project I'm working on is giving me some issues. I have about 9-10 instances of Massive going and using 1-2 of Melodyne, and I've got about 65 tracks up- I'm in writing mode at the moment with only 8 bars of tracks spread out in the Arrange window.

It's crashing quite frequently and sometimes when I go to save I get a message that says the project can't be saved.

Opened this same project up in 9.1.6 and have not had one crash or save problem. Staying in 6 for now.
Logic Pro 9.1.6 - MacPro 3.33GHz 6 Core Intel Xeon, 8GB Mem, iMac 3.2GHz Intel Core i3, 4GB Mem - OS 10.6.8.
http://soundcloud.com/bugscoe
 
User avatar
SculliD
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:07 pm
Location: Northern Michigan

Re: CPU Load 100% in Arange since 9.1.7?

Sat Apr 07, 2012 8:24 am

Answers my question as to whether I should go to 9.1.7. I'll just wait . Thanks!
27"iMac,Mac Pro,High Sierra,Apollo Quad and 8P, Symphony I/O, UAD-2 Quad and duo, Logic 10.4.6, PT9, Mixbus Ipad/V-Control