A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
ArtoSG
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm

M-Audio Oxygen 49 as Control Surface? [SOLVED]

Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:58 pm

Hi,
I am setting up a midi controller to work with Logic Pro.
Logic does not see Oxygen 49 when it scans the system. So I proceed manually in the setup window: New
There is no "Oxygen 49" available in Control Surface setup -list. Which should I choose?

Thank you for your help,

Arto
Attachments
Install-1.jpg
Install-1.jpg (46.81 KiB) Viewed 11262 times
Gear:
Lion 10.7.4.
MacBook Air 1.8Ghz intel I7 4GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver
Logic Pro 9 (9.1.7) 32 bit
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9756
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:09 am

OSX Lion is 10.7.x (not 10.4.7, as indicated in your signature)

Did you try to install the Oxygen drivers from M-Audio?
http://fr.m-audio.ca/index.php?do=support.drivers&f=656

Once the drivers installed, if not done, did you try to boot Logic in 32bit mode first?
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
ArtoSG
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:12 am

Hi,
Thanks for your reply.

You are right about my signature being erroneus, I sometimes reverse two last digits by accident.

Anyway, the OSX version I use is 10.7.4. I thought I was using Logic Pro in 32-bit mode, because the "About" sign says so. Is there a specific procedure to boot Logic Pro in 32-bit mode?

Yes, I have installed the driver, even though the support page of M-Audio states keyboard being "Class Compliant and not requiring a driver". Do you think I should be able to actually see the M-Audio Oxygen 49 -option in the Preferences/Control Surfaces/Setup -window provided the correct driver is in place and keyboard is connected? This is what I am uncertain of.

Additional info: I have tried selecting M-Audio Oxygen 25 and iControl (because they are available and closest I could get). With those selected the keyboard almost works. Meaning it plays all the notes and sometimes I succeed to assingn some knob or fader.
Attachments
M-AUDIO - Pilotes.jpg
M-AUDIO - Pilotes.jpg (48.06 KiB) Viewed 11248 times
Logic Pro.jpg
Logic Pro.jpg (27.47 KiB) Viewed 11248 times
Gear:
Lion 10.7.4.
MacBook Air 1.8Ghz intel I7 4GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver
Logic Pro 9 (9.1.7) 32 bit
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 15998
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:34 am

Can you get the Oxygen 49 to work as what it's supposed to be...a MIDI controller? In other words, does Logic receive MIDI messages sent from the Oxygen 49?

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
ArtoSG
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:45 am

Yes.
I even managed once to the the transport buttons to work when I had selected iControl from the Control Surfaces settings. I have studied the manual about how to make Logic lean commands from Oxygen 49 and how to form zones & modes & assignments, but the messages from Oxygen 49 seem to somehow confuse Logic.

As a reply to Atlas007: I have used Logic only in 32-bit mode, I learned that the selection between 64bit and 32bit modes is made by selecting Logic Pro in the Applications folder and pressing command + i, there is a checkbox selected.
Gear:
Lion 10.7.4.
MacBook Air 1.8Ghz intel I7 4GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver
Logic Pro 9 (9.1.7) 32 bit
 
ArtoSG
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:03 am

About installing the driver... I double checked M-Audio support page and noticed that I had installed a driver for Oxygen 49 (blue), which is suppose is newer version of the same (silver) product that I have. The driver has something to do with technology called DirectLink that is meant to improve the interface of Oxygen 49 and (Logic/Garage Band). I have learned from this forum, that the Direct Link technology is not at all necessary if the user is inclined to assing the controls manually (which is what I would like to do).

I have now removed the driver using its uninstall feature.

My problem still persists.
Gear:
Lion 10.7.4.
MacBook Air 1.8Ghz intel I7 4GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver
Logic Pro 9 (9.1.7) 32 bit
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 15998
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:09 am

Your MIDI controller does not require you install a driver for it to function with Logic. It is, however, a regular (dumb) MIDI controller so there's nothing for you to do in the Control Surfaces setup window.

Please follow this guide to do manual assignments:

Quick Guide to using a MIDI controller with Logic

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
ArtoSG
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:14 am

Thank you very much, the problem is now solved. The key thing is to understand that
- M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver will NOT be found in /Preferences/Control Surfaces/Setup, no matter what you do
- M-Audio Oxygen 49 is a DUMB midi controller, which does not mean that it is useless with Logic Pro, on the contrary!
- DUMB controller produces exactly the same MIDI codes as any other MIDI device, you just have to tell Logic which MIDI msg is used for each function. Learning procedure is simple and well explainend in the Quick Guide (see link in previous post by JORDITO).
- When a fader or knob is succesfully assigned to a specific task, it is automatically saved in Logic. That means, when you close project 1 where you assigned a knob to a task, it will function the same way when you open project 2 or start a new project.

This site was really helpful, thanks again!
Gear:
Lion 10.7.4.
MacBook Air 1.8Ghz intel I7 4GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver
Logic Pro 9 (9.1.7) 32 bit
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 15998
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: Which Control Surface I should use for M-Audio Oxygen 49

Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:51 am

ArtoSG wrote:
Thank you very much, the problem is now solved. The key thing is to understand that
- M-Audio Oxygen 49 silver will NOT be found in /Preferences/Control Surfaces/Setup, no matter what you do
- M-Audio Oxygen 49 is a DUMB midi controller, which does not mean that it is useless with Logic Pro, on the contrary!
- DUMB controller produces exactly the same MIDI codes as any other MIDI device, you just have to tell Logic which MIDI msg is used for each function. Learning procedure is simple and well explainend in the Quick Guide (see link in previous post by JORDITO).
- When a fader or knob is succesfully assigned to a specific task, it is automatically saved in Logic. That means, when you close project 1 where you assigned a knob to a task, it will function the same way when you open project 2 or start a new project.

This site was really helpful, thanks again!


Glad to hear the problem's solved!

Cheers,

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
User avatar
Jay Denson
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 5:51 am

Re: M-Audio Oxygen 49 as Control Surface? [SOLVED]

Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:04 am

I get the impression that M-Audio Direct Link does not support 64 bit. I just bought an Oxygen 88. After much scrambling about I realised it's not going to work until they release updated software. I can't find out approximately when that will be.

Jay Denson
Logic Pro X - 10.3.3 - Mac Pro - 2 x 2.8 Quad Core Intel Zeon - 32GB RAM, OS X 10.11.6, M-Audio Oxygen 88 MIDI Controller, EX-P Expression Pedal, TEC Breath Controller, Sample Modeling Complete Library, Garritan GPO4 and JABB 3, LASS First Chair, Chris Hein Solo Violin, Emotional Cello, London Solo Strings, Mojo Horns, Session Horns Pro, Session Strings Pro, EWQL Diamond Strings, Brass and Orchestral Woodwinds, Brush Artistry 2, Focusrite Saffire PRO 14, Yamaha HS50 Monitors.