Custom icons in Logic X?

Arkadi

I know it's a crazy day with lots of questions. But if someone knows how to add custom icons to Logic X I'd greatly appreciate it.

The usual icon folder is not in the resources folder and is instead spread out among several other resource folders. I tried searching for .png but I can't find where the new icons are located so I don't know where I can add mine. I also searched for .gif and .tiff and still no luck

Thanks!

This saddens me. I made big, readable, custom-colored icons many years ago, and I do rely on them as visual cues. Those little standard pictures of a flute or oboe or what-not may be detailed when they're enlarged. But in a real-world Arrange Page... er... the Main window, they're not of much help, considering the normal height of one track in a large orchestral arrangement.

Thanks Beej.

If anyone would like to cut and paste an example of how to edit a plist to accommodate custom icons, I'd be grateful. I've never done it before. I didn't even know the user could edit a plist. Is this one of those "Open the Terminal" things?

This feels like an issue to be addressed in a subsequent version... or it's one of those kludges that annoys deeply, then prompts others to ask why it's such a big deal, which in turns annoys still more deeply.

I wonder if some of the people wanting custom icons are the same people decrying LPX's more cartoonish interface? Nothing looks classier and "pro" than your Arrange Window sporting a bunch of mis-matched, ironic icons!

Personally, I like the custom icons, and I like the skeuomorphic aspects of LPX. At least I'm consistent!

Yes if someone could make some instructions on how to add custom icons that would be great. I tried but failed.

Also, does anyone know if there is a key command to open/close all Track Stacks at once? I'd like that option when navagating a large orchestral template. thanks!