A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Lausanne
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 am

Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:21 am

Hello!

I'm just wondering if anyone knows what key command it is to change the left-click and command-click tool in Logic Pro 9 it was easily done by pressing ESC but I can't find anything in this version, I have opened the key command window but I can't find anything.

Also, I'm trying to reassign the Musical Typing back to Caps Lock like it was in Logic Pro 9 but it won't let me, ideas on how to get it working?
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:27 am

T
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
Lausanne
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:29 am

EricBradley wrote:
T


Thank you so much!

Reassigned it to ESC now :) Do you have any idea on how to do the other thing I asked? It seems like it doesn't recognizeCaps Lock
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:39 am

You're welcome! :D

Not from within Logic.
There are applications that can transform keys for you before they reach Logic but I would just learn the new commands instead.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
Lausanne
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:42 am

EricBradley wrote:
You're welcome! :D

Not from within Logic.
There are applications that can transform keys for you before they reach Logic but I would just learn the new commands instead.






Yeah that's true :)

I never really learnt Logic 9, should I go for X or learn 9 instead?
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:44 am

X is the way to go if you haven't learned 9 yet.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
Lausanne
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:51 am

EricBradley wrote:
X is the way to go if you haven't learned 9 yet.


Alright! I don't really like the Garageband GUI of X though but I guess I'll go for it anyway.
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
 
Tresman
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:21 pm
Location: New York

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:52 am

Thanks, I was looking for that as well.
This forum is very helpful in moments like these. "T" makes sense!
I'm liking the new layout so far... plus I'm removing from view the buttons that I don't need.
(Some issues like the colors will probably be fixed)
MacBook Pro 2.53 GHz , 4 GB, latest OS 10.x.x
latest Logic Pro X, RME Fireface UC, (2) Glyph 1T
 
Lausanne
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:12 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:26 am

Tresman wrote:
Thanks, I was looking for that as well.
This forum is very helpful in moments like these. "T" makes sense!
I'm liking the new layout so far... plus I'm removing from view the buttons that I don't need.
(Some issues like the colors will probably be fixed)


What do you mean with remvoing from view the buttons?

Also, what issues are there with colors?
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
 
beej
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:28 am

Lausanne wrote:
Also, what issues are there with colors?


You can't edit them, only choose from the available ones, and they don't really stick either...
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4510
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:57 am

Lausanne wrote:
EricBradley wrote:
X is the way to go if you haven't learned 9 yet.


Alright! I don't really like the Garageband GUI of X though but I guess I'll go for it anyway.


Logic Pro X actually has UI of Final Cut Pro X, so technically its more correct to say "iMovie Logic Pro" if you want to be picky.
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
jdoo
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X - Related Q..

Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:37 pm

When installing LP X - a dialogue pops up, asking
Use key commands optimized for Logic Pro X?
Click “Use New” to use a new Logic Pro X key command set, or click “Keep Previous” to use the key commands from your previous Logic version.
You can choose a different key command set later from the “Logic Pro X > Key Commands > Presets” menu.

I just kicked off the install ... wondering if choosing the new option is what everyone else is doing?
Logic Pro 10.4.1 MainStage 3.3.2 OS X 10.14 iMac i5 2.7 8 GB
 
beej
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:45 pm

I kept mine, thanks very much! ;)
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X - Related Q..

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:01 pm

jdoo wrote:
wondering if choosing the new option is what everyone else is doing?


It's a personal choice.
I like to start from the original just because key command changes also reflect the philosophy of the application. Then I tweak it to my liking.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
dpickell
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:24 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:15 pm

Eric, do you know if there's a SORT TRAKS BY TRACK NAME (etc) key command in ten? I sort all the time and mousing the menus mauls my hand. Yes I know I need a trackball. Best! Dave
Professional producer, TV writer, songwriter. Veteran of the grandaddy - C-Lab Notator on an Atari, for krissake! Now Logic Pro 10.0.7, in Mac OSX 10.9.3, running on 2.66 GHz Quad-core Intel Xeon processor with 8G memory BUT using LP9 AMAP
 
Tresman
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:21 pm
Location: New York

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:22 pm

I just took screenshots of my old key commands (there's probably an easier way), then I installed the new presets, just to check out the functionality of LPX. Some common ones, like "undo history" changed... not good... and some, like the marker functions, also changed but in a more logical set. Most are the same.
MacBook Pro 2.53 GHz , 4 GB, latest OS 10.x.x
latest Logic Pro X, RME Fireface UC, (2) Glyph 1T
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:26 pm

dpickell wrote:
Eric, do you know if there's a SORT TRAKS BY TRACK NAME (etc) key command in ten? I sort all the time and mousing the menus mauls my hand. Yes I know I need a trackball. Best! Dave


No there is not.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
cmrick
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 11:19 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:33 pm

Tresman wrote:
I just took screenshots of my old key commands (there's probably an easier way), then I installed the new presets, just to check out the functionality of LPX. Some common ones, like "undo history" changed... not good... and some, like the marker functions, also changed but in a more logical set. Most are the same.


You can actually save your key commands as a present by selecting Options -> Export Key Commands in the Key Commands editor. They'll then appear in the Presets dropdown and you can toggle back to them if you don't like the default key commands.
 
dpickell
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:24 am

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X

Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:35 pm

EricBradley wrote:
dpickell wrote:
Eric, do you know if there's a SORT TRAKS BY TRACK NAME (etc) key command in ten? I sort all the time and mousing the menus mauls my hand. Yes I know I need a trackball. Best! Dave


No there is not.
. Dave says really bad word at +20 db then carries on. Thx, Eric.
Professional producer, TV writer, songwriter. Veteran of the grandaddy - C-Lab Notator on an Atari, for krissake! Now Logic Pro 10.0.7, in Mac OSX 10.9.3, running on 2.66 GHz Quad-core Intel Xeon processor with 8G memory BUT using LP9 AMAP
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84674
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Key commands Logic Pro X - Related Q..

Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:00 pm

EricBradley wrote:
jdoo wrote:
wondering if choosing the new option is what everyone else is doing?


It's a personal choice.
I like to start from the original just because key command changes also reflect the philosophy of the application. Then I tweak it to my liking.

I do the same. But for something as often-used as the toolbox, T seems a bit lost in the middle of the keyboard, while esc was really easy to find. Who knows, maybe I'll get used to it.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM