A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Blekspetl
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am

MIDI regions won't play back

Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:21 am

Hi everyone, I got an issue I hope someone here can help me with.

Suddenly my MIDI regions won't play back. I can hear the notes when when I play on my MIDI controller and when I mark the MIDI notes in the piano roll, but not when play it back in the arrange window. This worked fine the last time I opened the project.

- I have done a restart of all my equipment, computer and Logic.
- Nothing is muted - not the track or the regions.
- The MIDI in/out in the piano roll is ON.
- The channel strip setting is set to ON.

Logic X 10.0.2
OSX 10.8.4
iMac early 2009
2.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
4 GB ram
SATA disc
M-Audio Fast Track Pro, with M-Audio Radium 49.

Thanks!
 
Blekspetl
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Sun Aug 25, 2013 9:18 am

Some more information:

- This applies to all instruments.
- It works as usual for MIDI written using the pen tool, but not for MIDI played on the keyboard.
- MIDI channel are set to 1 (as seen in the event window).
- Instrument channel is set to "all".

Does anyone know what could be wrong? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18552
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:23 am

Is software monitoring turned on in Logic's preferences?
What happens when you select built-in as your interface in Logic's preferences?
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
Blekspetl
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:57 pm

Thanks for replying!

Software monitoring was turned on. I tried to turned it off, but nothing changed. I also tried using the built in as interface, but no luck.
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18552
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:36 pm

Software monitoring has to be on, otherwise you wouldn't hear any effects or virtual instruments.
When you create a new project and record midi, is everything ok?
What happens if you create a new project and import those regions, do play there? The original project might be corrupt.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
Blekspetl
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:29 am

I'll keep in mind that software monitoring must be on.

When I create a new project the same thing happens. MIDI recorded on the keyboard does not play, while information written with the pen tools works as usual when playing it back. Same thing happens when I copy the regions.

I tried to check if there could be a setting on the MIDI keyboard that I need to change, but it seems like it is also sending information to channel 1. But if I disconnect the keyboard, there's no changes.

Thanks!
 
CCTMusic
Posts: 2441
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:34 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:39 am

Hi

triplets wrote:
Software monitoring has to be on, otherwise you wouldn't hear any effects or virtual instruments.


Really???


CCT
MacPro 2x2.9 Quad 28Gb OSX 10.14.x / LPX 10.5.1
MacBook Pro Quad 2.6 16Gb OSX.10.15.7 , LPX 10.6.1
 
User avatar
heilei
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 2:57 am

Nothing is muted - not the track or the regions.


Just a hunch, but... This bit me last weekend: maybe the track itself is off? Note that in LPX there are two different "mutes" on each track: the actual, real mute (the M button), and the on/off button for the track itself. Is that on or off? (The on/off switch might not be visible, it's one of the advanced settings, I think)
 
Blekspetl
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:08 am

heilei: Yes, the track is on too.

The on/off button for the track is not visible in the arrange window, so to make it visible right click on the track header and click "configure track header". There you can add the on/off button.

Generally all muted tracks become greyed out, and applies to when turning the track off, muting the region or the track.
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18552
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:33 am

CCTMusic wrote:
Hi

triplets wrote:
Software monitoring has to be on, otherwise you wouldn't hear any effects or virtual instruments.


Really???


CCT


My bad, it's only for audio. Mental glitch.

From the manual:
Enabling Software Monitoring for Recording
The Software Monitoring function allows you to monitor incoming audio through any effect plug-ins that are inserted into an armed audio channel strip. Audio inputs must be assigned on the record-enabled channel strips for software monitoring to function.

It is important to note that the effect plug-ins are monitored but not recorded, which can be useful during a recording session. For example, during vocal recording many singers prefer to hear their performance with a little reverb, but the track is recorded dry—without effects.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
CCTMusic
Posts: 2441
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:34 am

Re: MIDI regions won't play back

Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:56 am

Hi

triplets wrote:
My bad, it's only for audio. Mental glitch.




No problem :)


CCT
MacPro 2x2.9 Quad 28Gb OSX 10.14.x / LPX 10.5.1
MacBook Pro Quad 2.6 16Gb OSX.10.15.7 , LPX 10.6.1