A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
deckard1
Topic Author
Posts: 1107
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:50 pm

Hi,

If a track has already been bounced to mp3, how do I remove the vocals from the bounced mp3 track in Logic X? I'm just curious for personal use. It must be possible because karaoke machines can do it...correct? Or, is it like trying to unscramble an egg...impossible I mean...once a track has already been rendered to mp3?

Thanks. 
15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012): 2.3 GHz, i7, 16 GB RAM, 480GB SSD; OS X 10.15.4
Logic Pro X (10.5.0)
 
User avatar
Arnaud
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:37 am

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:46 pm

There's no really good way, especially if the vocals have significant stereo-spreading fx (such as reverb or delay) active in a non mono-centered fashion, and/or if the vocals are not themselves panned dead-center.

In case the material has centered, dry enough vocals, then import back the mixdown into Logic on an empty audio track, insert a Gain plug-in, and enable the invert phase button on either the L or R (not both!) channel. This should more or less null everything that is centered (among which, the vocals), only leaving the L- or R-specific (i.e. non-centered) audio signal.

Doing so, you may well null more than the vocals (e.g. bass, kick, possibly snare if centered as well...). If that's the case you have to do this using parallel tracks along with bandwidth EQing, to for instance leave the bottom end of the signal (e.g. below 200 Hz, where the bass and kick sit) unprocessed, while processing only the bandwidth in which the vocals main frequencies lie.

This is most probably going to be less than perfect, or even close to impossible, depending on the material. I think that most decent karaoke tracks are actually remixes where the vocals were muted from within the mix itself.
Logic Pro X 10.4.8 - OS X Catalina 10.15.3
MacBook Pro retina 16" late-2019, 2x2.4 GHz Core i9, 64 GB 2666 MHz DDR4, 8 TB SSD

Audio interface: RME Fireface UCX - MIDI Interface: MIDIMAN USB Midisport 4x4

Keyboard midi controllers: Korg M1, NI Komplete Kontrol S88 mk1
Additional control surface: Logic Remote (on iPadAir 2)

https://www.evernoize.com
 
musos
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:32 pm

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:43 am

Theoretically one can remove vocals from a mix using Melodyne: Celemony.com
Practically, it's not always possible....
Logic Pro x 10.5 / OS X 10.14.6 / 2018 Mac Mini i7 3.2 GHz 32GB RAM
 
User avatar
deckard1
Topic Author
Posts: 1107
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:56 am

Thanks!!!!
15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012): 2.3 GHz, i7, 16 GB RAM, 480GB SSD; OS X 10.15.4
Logic Pro X (10.5.0)
 
User avatar
Ashermusic
Posts: 3262
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lake Balboa, CA
Contact:

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:50 am

iMac 3.5 Quad Core i7 w/ OSX 10.14

Composer, Logic Pro X Certified Trainer
Author of "Going Pro with Logic Pro 9" & "Scoring with Logic Pro"
http://www.jayasher.com
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 77548
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:10 pm

I have had very good results removing vocals using nothing but Logic's included plug-ins: Separate beat and vocals
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.0
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
deckard1
Topic Author
Posts: 1107
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:48 am

Two years later...any developments?

I have yet to try David’s method. Will try that today. Just curious if modern technology has made any advancements in regards to removing vocals from an already bounced music track?

Thanks.
15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012): 2.3 GHz, i7, 16 GB RAM, 480GB SSD; OS X 10.15.4
Logic Pro X (10.5.0)
 
Scorwitz
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:23 am

Re: How to remove vocals from already rendered track in Logic X???

Fri May 22, 2020 8:19 pm

Trying this myself now that I know how. Of course the results still leave a ghost vocal. Tried eq but removes too much other info.

Is there a logic plugin that can do the opposite of winning something centered or a specific frequency range?

I have a feeling this may have been recorded all in one room with separate mics as the L and R channels are slightly different.