External hard drive setup for new iMac

Hey guys,

I've ordered a new 2017 27" iMac (i7/512SSD/8GB RAM) which will be arriving in a few weeks - note that I have an extra 32GB RAM from crucial waiting as well :)

Since my current computer is a 2010 21.5" iMac, I have never worked on a computer with an SSD. Now, I know I'll be in for a real treat with that, but with my internal storage being reduced from 1TB to 512GB, I'm wondering what I should be doing with my project files and samples.

I'm a podcast editor as well as a music producer, so I tend to keep client files for at least a year. Those can probably sit on a regular hard drive until I need them, but for my everyday production and various personal music projects I like to switch between, is there an optimal setup for where they should all live where I can still make use of the SSD where it's needed? Should I look into an external SSD or will a regular 7200RPM external hard drive be fine? What options do I have? I've only ever had the single internal hard drive so this is all a bit new to me.

Thanks in advance guys.

Edited by rjsounds

When I'm working on music projects I do use a lot of 3rd party synth plugins, and eventually I am wanting to buy maybe EQWL Symphonic Orchestra or Hollywood strings. I'll take a look at the USB 3 enclosures, and probably 2-3TB size will be ideal for storage. Thanks for the recommendation.

With regards to projects files and audio samples, and given the smaller internal 512GB SSD, where should these files be living? On the internal drive? On an external? Or should I only be keeping active project files on the internal SSD? Problem is all of my project files (and so many unfinished songs) are already over 500GB in size.

Really? In the 7 years I've had this iMac, I've just kept everything on the internal drive and only used an external as a backup. I guess this doesn't matter since this older iMac doesn't have an SSD.