A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
josetorresvicente
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:32 am
Location: Seville, Spain
Contact:

Changing Bit and sample rate for mastering

Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:56 pm

Hi,

I usually record and mix with these settings: 
24 bits
48 khz 

As I need the master to be 16 bit and 44.1 kHz I don't know when to convert. 

Should I convert during the bounce in my Mix session and then open a mastering session with the final settings or should I master with same settings and just convert in the final bounce? In any case must I use the dithering during the bounce?

Thank you all for reading!
Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.11.6 | Logic Pro 10.3
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (2nd gen) /Focusrite Isa Two / Sonifex Redbox Rb Adda /Novation Impulse 25

http://josetorresvicente.com
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21926
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Changing Bit and sample rate for mastering

Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:04 am

Convert in the final bounce and use dither when truncating to 16-bit.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
drakepeterdrake
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:43 am

Re: Changing Bit and sample rate for mastering

Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:50 am

I've been fortunate to have had some of my work mastered at Sterling Sound in NYC. I would talk with your mastering house. You may well end up doing the aformentioned dithering, etc., in Logic, but the mastering house may have more sophisticated conversion programs. They may ask that you send your 48k file as well and see which sounds best. Sometimes even doing an analog transfer sounds better than the "gear-changing" of going from 48k to 44.1k.
Logic Pro X 10.3.2
2.8 ghz Mac Pro Quad core mid-2010 16GB RAM MOTU MTP-AV USB-Midi interface
OS 10.11.6
MOTU PCI-424 / 2408,1224 to Yamaha DM2000 console
Yamaha CP33 keyboard controller into MOTU MTP AV x2 w/ various sound modules via Opcode SVP on a G4
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 13034
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Changing Bit and sample rate for mastering

Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:54 am

Use the original sample rate and bit depth for the mastering session.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 2.26 Intel Quad-Core 10 GB RAM, Logic 10.3.2, 10.11.6., UA Apollo
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 2237
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Changing Bit and sample rate for mastering

Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:32 am

Convert using iZotope or something similar. If you more software instruments than audio it may be better to convert the session.
Retina MacBook Pro 15", 2.7/16 | LPX 10.3.2 | macOS 10.13
RME FireFace 400 | Emagic Logic Control | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks
(95% chance i'm on the latest version if it shows the previous)