A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
fishish
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:23 am
Location: here n there

audio interface with two headphone outputs

Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:59 pm

I have a scarlett 2i2.

My issue is when I am recording I can't listen to the session with whoever is in the booth because there is only one headphone out.

To accommodate I have been plugging my second pair of cans in the back where the monitor L & R outputs are. either L or R will suffice but I know its probably not the correct way to go about that.

What could I do instead so that I can keep my monitors plugged in and also use two headphones while recording?? Please help D:
with much respect
ya boy Fish
 
User avatar
carlcaulkett
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 2:50 am

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:46 am

One possibility is to use a headphone splitter like this https://goo.gl/p5PUF5. I've also seen ones which are even neater and are all contained within one small, solid unit.
Logic 10.5
macOS 10.14.6 Mojave (thanks to dosdude1.com/mojave)
Apple Mac Pro (early 2009) - 4,1 -> 5,1 - 32GB RAM - 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Novation Impulse 49
Novation Launchpad X
Scarlett 2i2 Audio Interface
 
uncleozzy
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:39 am

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs  Topic is solved

Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:39 am

My interface has two headphone outputs (and multiple monitor outputs), but I have a cheap little mixer (an old 6-channel Behringer) that I use sometimes when I'm tracking with somebody else. Run monitor outs into the mixer, artist gets headphones from the mixer and they can control their own level. You can get cute with this with bigger interfaces, but even with yours it would work on a basic level (monitors go out from the mixer).

A headphone amp is another option that might be better, depending on your needs.
Logic Pro X 10.4.5
OS X 10.14.5
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16GB RAM
Focusrite Clarett 8pre
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18096
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:39 pm

As long as you don't care that everybody is getting the same mix from the headphone outs, you only need a tiny headphone amp like this:

https://www.guitarcenter.com/Mackie/HM- ... plifier.gc

If you want to separate the mixes you need more outputs on your interface.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Davster
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:41 am

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:56 pm

triplets that link is giving me a guitar, not a headphone amplifier! :shock:

fishish wrote:
What could I do instead so that I can keep my monitors plugged in and also use two headphones while recording??


Maybe this is what Triplets intended to share, but you can do what I do:

Behringer make a decent super cheap headphone splitter amp, £20. Four stereo outputs. Individual volume control. Boom.

https://www.gear4music.com/PA-DJ-and-Lighting/Behringer-MicroAMP-HA400-Headphone-Amplifier/6M0?origin=product-ads&utm_campaign=PLA+Shop+-+Behringer&utm_medium=vertical_search&network=google&adgroup=1+-+Product+Level+-+Behringer&merchant_id=1279443&product_id=8568d1&product_country=GB&product_partition_id=111957472159&gclid=Cj0KCQjwv-DaBRCcARIsAI9sba8fdXpkjaUlg4N3kwV1r-CCxqDVhkDCpr9TqsSuhLahOVncpM0nqVgaAst7EALw_wcB
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18096
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:46 pm

Davster wrote:
triplets that link is giving me a guitar, not a headphone amplifier!


I don't know what you clicked on, but the link takes me to a Mackie headphone amplifier.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
keithsmith
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:37 pm
Location: Chorley, Lancashire UK

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:05 am

Just to clarify- because its something I find personally really annoying, ha ha - the link took me to an irrelevant item when first tried but appears to link correctly now, one of those weird url glitches, I guess.
2017 iMac 3.6 Ghz Kaby Lake 16 Gb RAM 512Gb SSD + Samsung 500 Gb external SSD project drive OS 10.12.6 Logic X 10.4.2

Mac Mini Server 2011, i7 processor, 8Gb/OS Mountain Lion Logic 9.1.8

External HDDs for backups.
 
keithsmith
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:37 pm
Location: Chorley, Lancashire UK

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:54 am

And, looking again 2 hours later, a page of html or similar. Maybe its site maintenance or reorganisation.
2017 iMac 3.6 Ghz Kaby Lake 16 Gb RAM 512Gb SSD + Samsung 500 Gb external SSD project drive OS 10.12.6 Logic X 10.4.2

Mac Mini Server 2011, i7 processor, 8Gb/OS Mountain Lion Logic 9.1.8

External HDDs for backups.
 
User avatar
fishish
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:23 am
Location: here n there

Re: audio interface with two headphone outputs

Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:59 pm

I like the mixer tip currently I do not have one. I am looking to upgrade my interface
with much respect
ya boy Fish