Sound Card or better at mixing?

Hello -

Apologies as I'm sure this is a question asked many times. I've read most of those posts but still have a nagging doubt.

I'm a newbie, using my iMac on-board audio with Logic making electronic/dance music. I make sure to listen to my tracks on a variety of different systems (monitors, headphones, speakers, car surround sound etc). I've been reading up and practicing my mixing, a lot, with great improvements. While I recognise I've got a Looooooong way to go to fully understand all aspects of mixing, my tracks just don't have the same warmth and depth as stuff I listen to from other artists (i.e. on Apple Music for example). I'll listen to other stuff and when I switch back to my own, it just lacks warmth and ... well ... presence and feeling (I'm sure you all can relate). I'll keep on practicing and learning no doubt about that, but ... finally getting to the question(s) ....

Would an external sound-card bring the warmth and feeling I crave? Is my on-board audio holding me back, or does it have everything I need to achieve that sound (and I just need to keeping learning)? I don't record audio (for now at least) and so I don't need mic inputs per se. I have a great Filo headphone amp with DT770 (80) and DT880 (250) so don't need amplification (and like I said I listen on a variety of outputs). Finally, if my on-board card has the capability, does anyone use a particular third-party plug-in for what I'm after or any tips/tricks for stuff already in logic (believe me, I've tried a lot of stuff) :-)

TIA

Mixing is an art that takes years to perfect. Be patient and read as much as you can about how your favorite artisst record and mix their albums.

On top of that, there's thousands of dollars of equipment and many hours of experimenting and mixing.

One thing is for sure, nobody uses the built-in audio for recording and mixing.

They all invest in a decent audio interface and speakers.