Do you think the ilok is the best way for companies to protect their software?  

17 members have voted

1. 1. Do you think the ilok is the best way for companies to protect their software?

• Yes
    • No

I have recently bought a copy of Protools 9 as I am studying to be an engineer and I need to know it inside out, and be very fast using it. So Protools no longer requires an mbox or m-audio AI to open, however it does require an ilok.

I have had the ilok for just over a month now and have misplaced it several times and have now fully lost it. This is just about the most frustrating thing in the world for me.

Here are my feelings on the ilok and the whole "dongle" concept in general (sorry major rant from hereonin).

1) As a paying customer I feel like there should be some benefit to legally buying a companies software other than feeling morally good about yourself. With companies who use an ilok to protect their software I feel the absolute opposite. In fact I feel like I am being punished buy paying for the software.

1.1) I have to waste a USB slot on my computer (on my mac pro this is not such a problem but on my MBP this is a huge problem as is only has 2 ports in the first place). So for example: I bought an deal with an mbox 2 mini (with PT8) and an upgrade to PT9. If I want to run PT9 on my MBP with the mbox, I have to use all the USB slots on the computer just in order for me to open PT and plug a mic in. Therefore leaving no free slots for the other things that i would like to use. e.g. Keyboard and Mouse, and USB memory stick.

1.2) If I misplace the ilok (very easy to do unless it is always connected to one machine), I cannot even open the software. Say you are doing a location recording and you get to the venue and you set everything up and find that you have forgotten your ilok. There is nothing you can do, the software will not open, period.