A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
bogartpeanuts
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:10 am

Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:38 am

Hi to all - I'm new to the forum. I'm having major problems with Logic and my i7 iMac since I have installed Mountain Lion. I use an Apogee Ensemble. I'm getting crackles and Pops even with the Buffer size set to 512. When I lower the buffer it's like listening to a freshly soaked bowl of Rice Crispies! :shock: I can still hear the occasional pop with the buffer set to 1024. I'm going crazy because I can't find a solution to this problem. I have an older Mac Book Pro with Lion installed and everything works perfect on it. The clicks and pops are audible while recording with the software monitoring on. On playback they are part of the recorded material. When monitoring through the ensemble directly, I can't hear them. I've tried using a different firewire cable, reinstalling maestro 2, rebooting several times. All is up to date... What else can I do???

Can someone help me? Please.

Thanks,
 
User avatar
dkgross
Posts: 4743
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:37 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:47 am

did you ever get this resolved? Any new Ensemble updates?
 
dlipps
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:13 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:18 pm

I have the exact same problem. Have you been able to resolve this? Apogee claims compatibility with Mountain Lion, but it's apparently not true. It's caused quite a lot of embarrassment with my clients. I spoke with Apogee on the phone, and they said I would have to pay to have it looked at since it's out of warranty when the problem is obviously a driver issue since it was working fine pre-Mountain Lion.
 
User avatar
Jmando
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Kentucky

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:51 am

Check the Apogee website for an updated driver.

http://www.apogeedigital.com/downloads.php
iMac 27" (Retina 5k) 4.0GHz Quad Core i7 (Late 2014) - 32GB Ram - 1TB internal SSD - Mojave 10.14.6 - Logic ProX 10.5.1
Mac Mini 2.3GHz Quad Core i7 (Late 2012) - 16 GB Ram - 1TB internal HD - El Cap 10.11.6 - Logic ProX 10.3.3
Apollo Twin X - RME UCX - AEA TRP2 - Focal Alpha 65 - Equator D5 - NS-10M - 3 x 1TB FW800 Ext HD (7200 rpm) - 1 x 3TB T-bolt Ext HD
 
paulsikivie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:08 pm

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:16 pm

I've been going back and forth with a nice Apogee Tech Support guy about the same problem (Ensemble, iMac, Mountain Lion, clicks and pops intermittently in recorded audio, regardless of buffer). After a bunch of other stuff, I just tried something that seems to have fixed it. I used the Ensemble firmware updater to downgrade my Ensemble firmware to BCD 1.9.29 and FPGA 1.34.1. You just go to the options menu and pick "allow downgrades." Worth a shot. You'll have to do some turning on and off of the ensemble and a restart and closing other programs is required, as are detaching everything else from the firewire bus.
 
User avatar
fredoviola
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:38 am
Location: Woodstock
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Jan 13, 2013 5:52 am

I had some pops and clicks, but on top of that, the sound will suddenly cut out completely and won't come back until the unit is restarted. Anyone have that problem? As well, Maestro 2 often doesn't recognize that the Ensemble is connected. I just went through many painful months of tech support with the nice staff there, and finally got sent a new unit. Day two all of the previous symptoms showed their ugly face, on TWO computers. The third symptom I've had, btw, is that occasionally the unit will freeze up. It can't be shut off or on. It just stays in that limbo status, with all of the lights illuminated. The only way to turn it off or on is to hold down the button for like 7 seconds.

I would really like to know if other folks are having these problems.

BTW, I most definitely have the right firmware and updated software. My suspicion is that this is Mountain Lion incompatibility. Logic Pro has horrible behavior in Mountain Lion as well, and for the same painful months I had tech support with Apple. It turns out to be a Core Audio issue and is effecting many more apps than Logic Pro. This just leads me to believe that there's some subtle incompatibility that results in this kind of flaky behavior. But it's not cool that the unit you use to do your work on could suddenly stop working and cause you to have to stop everything to fix it.
Logic Pro 10.3.2
Mid 2012 Mac Pro 2.4 Ghz 12-core, ATI Radeon HD 5770, 240 GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD, 2 TB OWC Black Caviar SATA Drive, 28 GB ram
OS 10.11.6
 
Routinemark
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:17 am
Location: UK

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:27 pm

Hi - I have latest Imac (i7) with 32GB ram and duet 2 soundcard and I have this problem with clicks and pops when I move playback position or open plugins etc. I never had this problem on old Imac with duet 1 soundcard....
I really do want to get to the bottom of it - so any help is appreciated
Logic 9.1.6 -OSX 10.8 - Late 2012 IMac 27
i7 Quad core 3.6GHz - 32GB Ram , Forte sound card and fusion 1TB plus Lacie thunderbolt SS drives
 
Routinemark
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:17 am
Location: UK

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:54 am

it was the duet 2 - no good in mountain lion - changed to focusrite forte and all ok
Logic 9.1.6 -OSX 10.8 - Late 2012 IMac 27
i7 Quad core 3.6GHz - 32GB Ram , Forte sound card and fusion 1TB plus Lacie thunderbolt SS drives
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:18 am

Routinemark wrote:
it was the duet 2 - no good in mountain lion - changed to focusrite forte and all ok


The beauty of class compliant drivers on the Duet 2. Apogee's USB implementation is crap.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
instantpop
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:20 am

Having issues you here as well. Duet 2, new iMac i7, 10.8.2. Getting pops and clicks in Logic. I put a tweet out to @apogeedigital asking if the drivers for the 'new' Duet for iMac and iPad which specifically state that it's compatible with 10.8.2 would work on my 'old' Duet 2, but haven't received a reply.

On a side note, all my samples are now being stored on an external USB drive (Seagate with the swappable connection options). This wouldn't be contributing to the issue (popping) at all, would it? Previous machine (Mac Pro) had everything on a separate internal drives.
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:22 pm

instantpop wrote:
On a side note, all my samples are now being stored on an external USB drive (Seagate with the swappable connection options). This wouldn't be contributing to the issue (popping) at all, would it? Previous machine (Mac Pro) had everything on a separate internal drives.


Is the drive USB 3.0? If not, that's reason enough for pops and clicks. USB 2.0 is too slow for streaming.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
instantpop
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:44 am

Hey triplets,

It is 3.0. It's one of these guys: http://www.seagate.com/external-hard-dr ... -plus-mac/
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:07 pm

I wonder if that drive is 5400 rpm.
How much ram on your computer?
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Tribalman
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Location: Roquebrune Cap Martin, France

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:52 am

Hi there.
I used to work with MBP 17' 2008, LP9.x.x, Snow Leo and RME Digiface connected thru RME Express Card Bus and really, this Audio stuff worked rock solid !
Really ! Never any issues at all !

Since this old MBP goes to death ( graphic card knowned death then motherboard and out of warranty after 5 years , :/ ) I bought a Mac Mini recently.
16 gig ram and it work nice .
But can't use anymore the RME audio because, there's no Usb or Firewire interface on it.
So, a friend gave me for a try an Ensemble Apogee, almost brand new unless it's old age.
Maestro 2 and the drivers are up to date and Mountain Lion ready ( as they say ).

This stuff don't work very well :/
Time to time, mainly when I close a Logic project and launch another one, the sound desappear .
I have to uncheck the core audio in the pref and check it again.
This is re-launching Core audio, and there is sound again.
Okay, not very smooth but workable ...

But now I suspect the Ensemble to run Kernel Panic when I boot the Mini .
This happened to me today !
It's seems that the old FW 400 on the Apogee stuff is really from an old age .
It's enough !
I guess I have to invest in RME again ( Not really the good time about money but ...)
I dream for a Fireface UCX.
Look like perfection, I guess.
And maybe his old Usb 2 connection will be better ...

Is there any hope that Apogee and ML will ever be ok together ?
Mac Mini i7 Late 2012 / OS X 10.12.6 / LPX 10.4.2 / 16G ram / RME Fireface 802 / SSD 840 Pro 512 for system and virtual synth datas / USB 3 Ext SSD 850 EVO 512 Gig + Akitio NT2 U3 ( Raid 0 ) 2To SSD for Kontakt and temporary audio stream / Int HDD 1T for Audio & samples Back up
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:31 pm

I have seen more issues with Apogee stuff than other cheaper interfaces.
I don't think their drivers are any good at all. Way too much hype for me on their interfaces.

How many tracks do you usually record at the same time?
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
fredoviola
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:38 am
Location: Woodstock
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:08 pm

Triplets, you are so right.
Logic Pro 10.3.2
Mid 2012 Mac Pro 2.4 Ghz 12-core, ATI Radeon HD 5770, 240 GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD, 2 TB OWC Black Caviar SATA Drive, 28 GB ram
OS 10.11.6
 
User avatar
Tribalman
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Location: Roquebrune Cap Martin, France

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:29 am

triplets wrote:
How many tracks do you usually record at the same time?


Only one !
You know, lead vocal, guitar and so on.

Actually, when all is launched, I must say that the sound is very good.
The routing is very flexible too.
All the different analog and digital options are awful ...
The unit itself is quite good looking .

But , yes , the drivers are definitely out !
Mac Mini i7 Late 2012 / OS X 10.12.6 / LPX 10.4.2 / 16G ram / RME Fireface 802 / SSD 840 Pro 512 for system and virtual synth datas / USB 3 Ext SSD 850 EVO 512 Gig + Akitio NT2 U3 ( Raid 0 ) 2To SSD for Kontakt and temporary audio stream / Int HDD 1T for Audio & samples Back up
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:42 am

RME is definitely a great brand. But over a grand for the Fireface. Maybe a Babyface (I don't like break-out cables).
Motu has good interfaces, solid drivers. The Ultralite is quite good. I've used one for the last 6 years.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Tribalman
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Location: Roquebrune Cap Martin, France

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:57 am

;)
RME Fireface UCX !
Very useful remote control in option.
Choice between FW 400 and Usb 2 connection .
And more, it seems that RME achieves one of the best AD/DA converters on the market.
Mac Mini i7 Late 2012 / OS X 10.12.6 / LPX 10.4.2 / 16G ram / RME Fireface 802 / SSD 840 Pro 512 for system and virtual synth datas / USB 3 Ext SSD 850 EVO 512 Gig + Akitio NT2 U3 ( Raid 0 ) 2To SSD for Kontakt and temporary audio stream / Int HDD 1T for Audio & samples Back up
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Mountain Lion / Apogee Ensemble audio issues

Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:05 am

If you can afford it, go for it.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com