A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.



 
since1984
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 8:26 am

Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:53 am

Hi!
I need to control some lights and change some external effects while performing songs on stage. I've heard that there are plugins that are able to play midi files in Mainstage so they that can do this job for me.

Does anyone have informations about that? Thanx in advance!

Best regards
since1984
 
LydiasRacket
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:01 am

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:21 pm

I've been trying to do the same thing for some time now. I know that this is a feature request that has been out there for practically ever.

It is possible to import a single midi file that will start when the patch is played however the only way to stop it is to quit MS. What you would do would be to create an External MIDI channel. Then in the channel strip inspector there is an option for 'Send MIDI File". Check this and then import your MIDI file.

I have had to use Ableton for live performances because it will allow you to import and play a midi track with other backing tracks. You can also set the BPM by adding the value in the title. I would still much rather use MainStage though as we can also connect an iPod to it easily which would allow for changing of vocal and guitar effects that we have previously setup.

Current setup uses a backing track and click track (The latter is routed to the in Ear monitors). We then use a MIDI track to control all of the lights. The MIDI commands are sent to LightKey which holds the various scenes for the lights.

I *believe* that it may be possible to use another DAW or MIDI player in ReWire mode from MainStage, but I have had trouble getting this to work also. When I tried to ReWire Ableton Live 9 to MainStage was when I realized that I could just use Ableton.

Again using Ableton is not ideal for me, but it will work. If *ANYONE* has any other suggestions for importing and playing a MIDI track, please let me know...s
• Logic version and sub-version = Logic 10.2.0
• OS X version and sub-version = OS 10.11
• Computer = MacBook Pro, 17-inch (Early 2009)
• Processor = 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
• Memory = 8GB
• Audio interface manufacturer and model = Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
 
User avatar
SRF_Audio
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:05 am
Location: Obernheim-Kirchenarnbach, Germany
Contact:

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:24 am

Hello,

I actually made a pretty thorough tutorial on the subject of performing live and automating lights and parameters with Mainstage and Logic that may interest you.

You can view them here: [YouTube]https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLntd5dVt6G3_UQLw3yoe9lT321BmUOr2F[/YouTube]
http://www.srfaudio.com
• Logic Pro X 10.3.2 / Mainstage 3.2.3
• OS X 10.12.6
• iMac 27" 3.1Ghz, i5, 32GB RAM + Macbook Pro 13" 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 16GB RAM
• RME 802
• NI Komplete Ultimate, EW CCC2, XLN Audio Addictive Drums/Keys, Spectrasonics, IZotope Music Production Bundle/RX4/Stutter Edit
• Axiom Pro 61, Roland TD-9, Korg nano series
 
since1984
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 8:26 am

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:30 pm

SRF_Audio wrote:
I actually made a pretty thorough tutorial on the subject of performing live and automating lights and parameters with Mainstage and Logic that may interest you.[/YouTube]


Hi Stephen,

thank you so much for your helpful hint - your tutorials are awesome! If I may, I would contact you at your website ... ;-)

Hans
 
User avatar
SRF_Audio
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:05 am
Location: Obernheim-Kirchenarnbach, Germany
Contact:

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Sun Jan 10, 2016 12:09 am

Glad it helped! And I just got your message. ;-)
http://www.srfaudio.com
• Logic Pro X 10.3.2 / Mainstage 3.2.3
• OS X 10.12.6
• iMac 27" 3.1Ghz, i5, 32GB RAM + Macbook Pro 13" 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 16GB RAM
• RME 802
• NI Komplete Ultimate, EW CCC2, XLN Audio Addictive Drums/Keys, Spectrasonics, IZotope Music Production Bundle/RX4/Stutter Edit
• Axiom Pro 61, Roland TD-9, Korg nano series
 
diadempro
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:06 am

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:42 am

Mainstage has a built in way of sending a midi file to an external midi instrument when you select a patch that contains it, but the shortcoming I see there is Apple doesn’t say how to stop playback ... if you change to a new patch with a new midi file partway through the first it queues them up rather than replacing. Not sure if the “stop all midi” command clears the queue.

Also, some have suggested using Pure Data, which is complex but free:

viewtopic.php?t=126527
 
diadempro
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:06 am

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:44 am

 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Park City, UT

Re: Play MIDI files in Mainstage? Plugin?

Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:57 pm

its possible with Scripter too, but not necessarily easy.
MBP i7 2.66ghz, MacPro 3.3ghzx12, OSX 10.12, Logic Pro 10, Mainstage3, too many plugins to list