A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
spride
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:24 am

Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:05 pm

Since upgrading, the day of a gig [1] to both MainStage 3.5 and Catalina, I find that when I use MS's native Record function, I now have many audio drop-outs in the recording of complex Concerts where previously I had none. Same Concerts, same computer, same lack of external CPU load. The interesting thing is that if instead of using the native Record function I use AudioHijack to grab and save the output, it has no dropouts whatsoever.

To me this points the finger squarely at MainStage. If it were an I/O issue it would affect Audio Hijack too. If it were a CPU issue ditto. It seems prima facie to me that MainStage has gotten less efficient at writing to disk for no apparent reason. Is anyone else seeing this or anything similar?

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017), 48 GB RAM, i5, 1TB SSD
MainStage 3.5 Max CPU 160% (100% == 1 core, and the i5 has 4)
Apple and Arturia AUs.

Here is a SC example: https://soundcloud.com/simon-pride/vem6-desktop-2020-11-20-221408/s-1RQeK1joGjm
-------------
[1] I had reasons, trust me
 
ro-ja
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:27 am

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Mon Nov 30, 2020 4:27 am

I experience the same behaviour. Seems not to be related to Catalina but to be a bug in 3.5. A test with 3.4.2 and 3.4.4 under Catalina went without issues.
-----------------------------
Mac mini "Core i7" 2.6 (Late 2012/Server) • 8 GB RAM • macOS 10.15.7 • Focusrite Saffire PRO 40 • LPX 10.6 • Mainstage 3.5
MBP "Core i7" 2.4 (Early 2013) • 8 GB RAM • macOS 10.14.6 • Focusrite Saffire PRO 24 • LPX 10.4.6 • Mainstage 3.4.2
 
Count Dooku
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?  Topic is solved

Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:48 pm

Woah yes! I was just coming to this forum to post this exact same issue in 3.5... Small recording drop outs in the internal recording which are not present in Audio Hijack recordings. My setup is quite complex, but I run at about 40% CPU and haven't had this problem before.

The gaps can been seen in the attached waveform.

I submitted a bug report to Apple
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Count Dooku
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:55 pm

Is there a place where I can download Mainstage 3.4.4?
 
User avatar
Maddcow
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:43 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:19 am

Not unless you want to find a cracked copy. Do you have a backup of your system or versions of MainStage?

In moving forward, I strongly recommend that you back up each MainStage update on an external drive.
2019 MacBook Pro 16", 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, OSX 10.15.4 RME Fireface UFX+

MainStage v3.4.4
 
Count Dooku
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Tue Dec 01, 2020 5:52 am

Yea luckily I had a time machine backup.
 
User avatar
Maddcow
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:43 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:00 pm

Count Dooku wrote:
Yea luckily I had a time machine backup.
Nice! Good to hear that things worked out for you!
2019 MacBook Pro 16", 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, OSX 10.15.4 RME Fireface UFX+

MainStage v3.4.4
 
spride
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:24 am

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Wed Dec 02, 2020 4:52 am

I considered it too but as long as I have a workaround with Audio Hijack I am not in a hurry to downgrade. Are we sure any Concerts created in 3.5 will load in 3.4.4?
 
Count Dooku
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:41 pm

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:56 am

I believe i saved my patch that was created in 3.4 in 3.5, then was able to open it in 3.4. But not 100%. Sampler doesn’t exist in 3.4 that’s for sure. Although all my esx24 instruments that opened as Sampler instruments in 3.5 still worked back as esx24 instruments in 3.4.
 
spride
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:24 am

Re: Recording dropouts with 3.5 (maybe plus Catalina)?

Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:48 am

Good to know.

It's also good to see MainStage getting some TLC and attention from Apple after a long span of what felt like stagnation.