Program Change via MIDI Scripter

SRF_Audio

Hello all, 

Probably against my better judgement, I continue to try to make Mainstage work for me as my go-to tool for live performance. 

With the release of 3.3.1, I'm coming back around to give this another go. I'm already developed an inelegant, but functional method that uses the IAC bus and Logic to send events. But the MIDI scripter seems to offer the tantalizing possibility of being totally self contained in MS.

I know just enough basic javascript to know that I'm a terrible programmer. ;-)

So I was hoping to get some help from those who are more savvy at using the MIDI scripter. It still boggles the mind that the dev team wouldn't include that as an example script, as it seems to be a glaringly obvious usage of the program. (And, a feature that I have submitted feedback for several times.)

Goal:

To automate patch changes and parameters in time with Playback tracks throughout a concert.

Possible methods:

1) Call the state of Playback Markers (preferably at the Set level), and use each marker change to generate Program Change Messages that Mainstage will receive and respond to.

2) Call the state of the master clock/beat clock/MIDI clock, and use a specific beat to trigger PC messages.

I have been reading through the manual all morning, pulling my hair out because I just don't have the programming skills to translate the example scripts over to my solution.

Any ideas? 

I could be wrong, but I don't believe Mainstage has any notion of bar:beat.  It can run midi clock, which is just a metronome, it does not track anything related to point in time on a timeline.  

I agree that the ability to auto-send program changes over time would be an extremely useful feature.  Most people I know that use backing tracks just play MP3's and don't mess around with midi sequencer playback...and even with that, the metronome wouldn't even necessarily be running...