Basic question on music theory!

Gents,

Sorry for my basic question but I have no musical background so professional musicians will find this topic a very basic but it's important to me to understand.

I have attached the Camelot Wheel showing which note is compatible with which.

Let's take 2 or 3 examples to make sure I understand.

1- A Flat Minor is compatible with B Major

2- F Major is compatible with D minor

3- E Flat Minor is compatible with F sharp major

Questions:

---------------

1- What is an A Flat minor/major or minor/major? what is the difference between the flat and normal?

2- What is a Sharp Major?

3- When, for example, the first note is A# we call it minor and when A it's on major scale?!

4- Is the compatibility for any octave? for example if I take example 1) above A3 Flat Minor is compatible with B1 Major?

5- How I can know they of my melody? usually it has many notes but is it the first note of the melody? for example if the Main melody starts by A# and it's on minor scale I can say then that my melody is A# Minor?

Many Thanks in advance to explain me how the wheel works.

Best Regards,

mixedinkey_wheel.thumb.jpg.9f973bff96af19bb67cf904ad1efa71f.jpg

Camelot Wheel

1. Minor and Major are scales (or chords). Ab (A-flat) is an A dropped a semitone.

2. # (Sharp) means that it is one semitone higher. And Major means a major scale.

3. No you can have A# (A-sharp) minor or major.

4. No. The Major scale consists of 7 tones. In the key of C they are: C D E F G A B. The (natural)minor scale in A is: A B C D E F G. As you can see the scales use the same tones.

5. No. You will have to know more about the additional notes and possibly harmony too.