Keyboard playing tips pls.

JCcares

I'm basically a guitarist but play some keyboard to get me sequencing for recordings.I need some tips on chord voicing here.Do you guys use both hands while playing for recordings? I hear some folks avoid using lower tones on the bass region so it does not clash with bass guitar notes & boom.Is that true? Some tips on this would sure help.

Thanks.

Well I understand what you mean by chord voicing.But is it a good idea to totally avoid the bass notes so it doesn't boom over the bass guitar notes? Like in piano style playing when both pianist & bass player plays the same notes or different notes,it may be tough to mix it finally.Or do I play as a regular pianist would & then eq off the frequencies that boom?

Again, it really does depend, especially on what else is going on in the arrangement.

Unison piano and bass guitar can sound great without any need to EQ, for example.

I personally feel that people reach for the high pass filter way too much, so if it's sounding cramped in the bass register then I'd advise changing chord voicings over fixing a bad arrangement with EQ. But then, a high passed piano might be a deliberate part of the arrangement in some cases.

Too many variables to give anything near a definitive answer!

• 2 weeks later...

Think of your sonic pallette.. I often give thought to this before starting.. Just as in art, you do not want a bunch of wild crazy parts, or a painting with 12 shades of brown..

Sometimes I start laying down tracks and ideas.. then see where it's going.. I might realize I've used vibes, and piano. and the manner is they are competing for the same sonic real estate.. I'll then cute notes our of each down, or boil it down to one point..