A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Bachyavelli
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:58 pm

Score Editor Inconsistencies

Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:46 pm

I must be missing something...

I'm working on an orchestral piece that's ~300 measures long with 18 instruments. Here are my beefs:

- Articulations: Above the note? Below the note? Staccato markings are placed correctly, accents are not. The solution of 'manually' adding them by dragging the articulation using the command key is a total joke. I might as well hand-write my score.

- More Articulations: Set a note to staccato in the piano roll and it MIGHT show up in the score. Seems to be instrument dependent.

- Slurs: Manually draw them? Seriously?

- Dynamic marks: Manually have to position them? Really?

- Score-wide markings: Rehearsal letters that propagate to each part - how?!?

- Score formatting: Change something, like add an articulation, and the rest of the score shifts pages. Reminds me of adding an image to Microsoft Word and all of your text shifting to the left and getting 4 pages added.

Those are my main beefs at the moment. I haven't even really begun to work on the individual parts, this is all in the conductor's score.

What am I missing? All of this manual entry is driving me insane! Is this just how it has to be done?

END RANT
 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Posts: 2581
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:09 am

Much of what you indicate is not accurate. you have a lot in one thread. Why don't we take one at a time and discuss. You pick which one you want to start with... and I would be happy to respond with recommendations or improvements on workflows.
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.4.6: OS X 10.14.6
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland BK-7M ; Roland FR-8X : Novation Impulse 61 & 25 ; Ketron SD-90 ; Iconnectivity Mio 4 (Networked)
 
Bachyavelli
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:02 am

Hi volovicg! Thanks for replying.

Let's start with my biggest beef: articulations.

Staccato and legato marks work exactly as they should. Stem down -> articulation above the note head. Stem up -> articulation below the note head.

Accent marks always appear above the note head. This is a deal-breaker for me.

Thanks for your time!
 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Posts: 2581
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:43 am

I use the lyric tool to add them below the notes. This ensures they stay aligned with the note as I make formatting or spacing changes in the layout.

Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 2.43.05 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 2.43.05 PM.png (78.25 KiB) Viewed 3878 times
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.4.6: OS X 10.14.6
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland BK-7M ; Roland FR-8X : Novation Impulse 61 & 25 ; Ketron SD-90 ; Iconnectivity Mio 4 (Networked)
 
Bachyavelli
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Aug 13, 2018 12:30 pm

That works A LOT better! Thanks!

There's still a little fudging that needs to be done if the notes are below the staff and descending, but I think I can live with that.

What font do you use?
 
Bachyavelli
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Aug 13, 2018 12:35 pm

And is there any way to set the default vertical position for a new text style?
 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Posts: 2581
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:02 pm

No - but you can use the align vertically key command to set them all at the same level and position with the nudge key command or use shift and the event inspector
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.4.6: OS X 10.14.6
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland BK-7M ; Roland FR-8X : Novation Impulse 61 & 25 ; Ketron SD-90 ; Iconnectivity Mio 4 (Networked)
 
wahidovic
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:52 am

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:42 am

can you say me what font you use
 
wahidovic
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:52 am

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:44 am

thanks
 
angelonyc
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: New, York

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:08 am

Scoring is probably the oldest, most complex, and hard to implement aspect of Logic. I found a book written years ago, by the German guy who coded the score.. One trick suggested by hime, and I use a lot is to create a dummy track for Score display only.. It does not go to a midi track, dis-advantage you can't directly edit from score page. Advantage, you can manipulate things to look better on score page.
MacPro 2015 6 core - 64 gig of ram
OSX 10.14.16
Logic Pro 10.4.8
RME fireface 800, Genelec 8040A's
Genos, Montage Motif XS Rack, Korg M3, Intrega 7
Kontakt, UVI, U-he, Music Lab- Modartt
Kontakt and UVI libraries, U-he, Madrona Labs, Music Labs, Serum, Synthmaster,
SampleTank,Falcon,UVI, A.I.R. MusicTechnologies
 
User avatar
ski
Site Contributor
Posts: 16602
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:12 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Sat Oct 27, 2018 1:05 pm

I'd like to address a few of these...

- Articulations: Above the note? Below the note? Staccato markings are placed correctly, accents are not. The solution of 'manually' adding them by dragging the articulation using the command key is a total joke. I might as well hand-write my score.

There are conventions for how they should be placed, but no fixed rules. I recently discussed the topic of "correct symbol placement" with a prominent conductor. He then pulled some reference books on notation, and scores from various composers from different time periods, from his extensive library to show me some examples of variations. Save to say that there isn't 100% agreement, especially with regard to whether accents should be placed above or below slurs.

I agree that in Logic, sometimes accents are not placed correctly. And for as much as I work in the score editor, sometimes I feel the same way -- that I'd be better off writing out certain things by hand. It's all very much yin and yang...

- More Articulations: Set a note to staccato in the piano roll and it MIGHT show up in the score. Seems to be instrument dependent.

When you say "set a note to staccato", are you talking about using the Articulation Sets feature of attaching symbols to notes based on their ID?

- Score-wide markings: Rehearsal letters that propagate to each part - how?!?

Unfortunately, copy and paste. I get them right in one part, and then in the Score Editor, with the full score showing, I select them (sometimes one by one), select the remaining staves, and use the function to paste-at-original-position (multiple). This makes quick work of it.

- Score formatting: Change something, like add an articulation, and the rest of the score shifts pages. Reminds me of adding an image to Microsoft Word and all of your text shifting to the left and getting 4 pages added.

Happens all the time to me. And yes, it's aggravating. About the only way to prevent this from occurring is to lock your line breaks. But that's putting the cart before the horse...

• Start by creating a Score Set for your conductor's score. This is absolutely essential, because the Score Set memorizes your line breaks and locks. IOW, don't attempt this with the "All Instruments" Score Set (which isn't a Score Set at all).

• Turn off Link in the score window, click the hierarchy arrow several times until you've reached the "top level". Then select your conductor's score Score Set.

• Use the Layout Tool (hollow arrow) to set your line breaks. You have to work from the top down (this is crucial).

• When you're done, select the ¶ symbol from the part box and use the pencil tool to insert it at the end of the line on each system. You can make pretty quick work of that.

From that point on, when you add symbols and articulations, the # of bars per line shouldn't change on you.
MacPro 8 Core 2.4 GHz Xeon | 32G RAM | Sierra | LPX10.4 | Creator of ARTzID and SkiSwitcher Articulation Switching Systems for Logic Pro X, author of tutorials on The Score Editor, Enhancing Realism in Orchestral Mockups, and others.
 
User avatar
airforceguitar
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:01 pm

Between Volovicg and Ski, there’s pretty much no LPX Score Editor question that can’t be remedied (or a decent work-around found). Logic isn’t a score and parts editor, but with tips from these guys, you can do most bread&butter tasks. Check out Ski’s excellent MacProVideo on the Score Editor! Also Music XML export is getting better.
Logic Pro 10.4.1, Mainstage 3, late 2011 iMac 12,2 27" 3.4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 480GB OWC SSD, 2TB HD, OSX Sierra 10.12, Novation ReMote SL MkII, iConnect Audio2+ interface, M-Audio BX5 D2 monitors. 2008 MacBook Pro 17".
 
Bachyavelli
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Score Editor Inconsistencies

Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm

I hate to admit it, but I've switched to Sibelius for score editing. I've done about a dozen projects ranging from piano to full orchestral score and it was, *gasp*, enjoyable to do. There is an art to printing scores and Sibelius makes it easy. (You know, mostly.)

I do all my composing in Logic Pro then do a MIDI export. Crude? Yeah, but I love everything else about Logic Pro and I've really found a good editing flow. I still have the Score Editor open, but now it's just a quick reference to the music.
HELP SUPPORT OUR FORUM: