How do you Start a Song??

i hear songs playing in my head that i want to produce. I am very new at this so i have relied on only one tactic so far....I record a track playing the melody on the piano. The left hand will also record a simple rhythm, quite often 4-4 time.

I dont use drum tracks, just rely on the rhythm created by the piano track.

However, i am kind of bogged down when I try to strategize adding vocals and strings, etc. Would anybody like to share with me their way to "crack' a song and get it started?

Thank You.

• 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...

You can try to adapt vocals to the melody. You're going to immediately encounter the balancing act all songwriters encounter where you want to keep the lyrics you like and the melody you like, but one (or both) will have to give a little.

One of the coolest things about being a songwriter today is that you can take that melody you recorded and literally just cycle through different types of instruments using just the stock logic virtual instruments, and see how it sounds best.

And then of course there's a million other ways to take a simple idea and go crazy with it (literally and figuratively).

• 3 weeks later...

I'm primarily a guitar player and I always write on acoustic... from there... the song basically tells me if it's going to be a heavy rocker or a simple ballad or something in between.

Sometimes I write on piano...that usually always ends up being a ballad..

Lyrics are always last... I have the hardest time writing music for lyrics...

• 2 weeks later...
  • 5 weeks later...

I usually start with a basic melody but sometimes drum programming.

One thing which kinda works for me is to start a melody with scale degrees only (no chords allowed!) and once you have your simple ringtone melody, build chords out of it, or, build chords by using other instruments, for example have the bass on C1 - the root note - the keys on E 3 - third degree - and strings or something on G3.