how to figure out the key of a song - remixing

soccerpie

I am somewhat new to remixing and would like to remix this song. How do you figure out the key note of a song (using Logic) ?

I don't know if this has been posted before but if any of have any tips or tricks or know how to do this, it would be a great help :)

This is the song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iHFE0MuCkk: Emma - Crashing Down

Thank you

In the remix pack, it doesn't give any information regarding the key note.

Typically a good rule of thumb is the chord the song starts with is the Key of the song. If it starts on the V chord you will hear its cadence resolving to a I chord. If not then the last chord of the song is usually a good bet thats the key of the song because the V-I cadence or resolution is what your ear wants to hear for finality.. Also when a verse starts over it usually tags to a 1 chord (the songs key) The vocalist have to find their note with the I chord.

Not being a jerk or anything but Music theory really isn't that hard at all. Take some lessons or hit youtube to learn about chord scales and basic chord progressions. It will really set you free when you are listening to a chord progression go by. Also practice hearing the difference between major and minor. I hear a lot of "Remixers" completely screw this up. They start mixing a major song with minor parts and it sounds stupid. Anyway enjoy

• 7 months later...
Great tips from LiquidLogic above. Many songs do start on the root chord of the key. However in the case of the song above, the key root chord is the third chord you hear (in a 4 chord / 4 bar cycle). This is the chord under the lyrics "...away, ...from myself". The key is minor. Listen to the bass note. This is your key. Something minor. Now work it out. Good luck.