Music Licensing Distribution Royalties Suggestions

Zibon

Hello, since this is probably the related forum I'm most active on, I thought I'd see if anyone has any recommendations, suggestions or anecdotes to share on my current situation.

I compose and produce my own works for licensing. This includes libraries and sync agencies. I did this for a music library in the early 2000's. I got placements on TV with networks like TBS, HGTV, Discovery & LIfetime. I stopped in the mid-2000's and just did live work and recently started back in the last year or so. I have works with several sync agencies (Crucial, Scorekeepers, Tunedge) and got a placement recently on ABC. Generally I have been a composer of instrumental works for licensing (as opposed to a popular music artist using solo/band songs for sync licensing...but I am submitting more of the songs of various bands I'm in for licensing also). I have always been the "artist" but haven't put a lot into any promotion or distribution as the "artist", but I would like to start at least putting my works out there for streaming and downloading as an "artist".

I have always been with BMI, and that's all I've ever joined or registered with. BMI collects publishing on my behalf (for self licensed works) and I don't have a publisher or pub admin. I am looking into collecting mechanicals (USA and foreign) and also considering digital distribution and then collecting royalties for digital downloads and streaming, which wasn't a big thing back in early 2000s. I have read and researched the ins and outs of royalties and publishing etc. but I wanted to see what those who also do this for a living have to say about choosing distribution, publishing admins, and mechanicals collection globally.