Do all the recording features we have now *really* make better recordings? Discuss...

I've been writing and recording for over 35 years, with the first 10 years or so of recordings done on a Fostex X26 four track portastudio with TDK AD90 cassettes. The songs were recorded using a Squier Jazz bass, an ancient Ibanez guitar, a few Boss effects pedals, a Casio keyboard and a Boss DR220A drum machine. The four music tracks were mixed to a stereo master on a second AD90 cassette in an external stereo cassette recorder. That was then put in the Fostex to add two tracks of vocals and mixed to a third, final master cassette. Mixing and monitoring was done on a £15 set of open-backed headphones. No mastering with multiband compressors, limiters, sidechaining or any of that stuff. Just two bands of EQ on the Fostex and job done.

I started using Logic in 1996 but, for various life-related reasons, I've gone from being fairly prolific to having not recorded anything for two years. So when I was setting a new Logic system up last week, to get back into it I took all my old four track cassettes and recorded them into Logic, with the idea of remastering them for a bit of fun.

What really struck me was, listening to them through a decent pair of monitors for the first time, how good those old recordings actually were. The sound quality is far better than I expected and the sounds themselves - even with what many would now think of as very primitive equipment - were spot on for the songs. Even the quality of the final stereo mixes was much better than I thought it would be.

Which got me thinking... with the phenomenal power that hobby recordists have at our fingertips now... with Logic, virtual instruments, plug-ins and all the rest of it... do we actually have too much choice? And, if we're really honest with ourselves, is that choice becoming a distraction from the true creativity of recording?