A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Nogan
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:11 pm
Contact:

Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:38 pm

Hi! I assume (maybe I shouldn't) that the current maximum zoomed out arrangement view in logic is to preserve the text's visibility on each region, so that there is legibility still even when quite small. However, I most often do not find myself needing to see this text, and would prefer to be able to zoom out further as even my 4k display does not show all tracks at once.

It is helpful often in mixing and arranging to be able to take a step back and look at the picture as a whole and aside from grouping there is no easy way to zoom all the way out to see every component of a project.

And track stacks do not solve this issue, since as of writing you may only have 1 layer of stacks at the most, meaning you cannot have a folder or summing stack with folder or summing stacks nested inside. One could not alleviate this with sending either, since they do not visually indicate what is happening in the region-based display realm, which makes summing stacks so useful as you can view each intended layer of processing as an aggregate of objects.

Producing in multiple project files does not help either, as there is an obscene loading time during switching between windows just to check or reference one small part, and then there is also extra effort necessary for export / bouncing the projects and merging them together.

Although produced somewhat satirically, one should be able to compress all these tracks to a single window like in this image below, but at a normal aspect ratio. This is not the largest project I would have to compile a composite screenshot for, and I'm sure other people like Jacob Collier would appreciate it.
project_file.jpg
project_file.jpg (3.77 MiB) Viewed 1522 times
Logic Pro X (10.15.4)
Catalina: i7-8700K, 32GB 3466MHz
AKG C414 B-ULS
beyerdynamic T1 and DT880
Event 2020 V2
MOTU 828x, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC404HD
Casio Privia PX400R, Novation Launchpad Mini
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9529
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:36 pm

Folders are nest-able...
LogicPro 10.6.2, MainStage3.5.2
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Nogan
Topic Author
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Fri Apr 17, 2020 8:09 pm

Atlas007 wrote:
Folders are nest-able...

Hmm, after trying I've managed to be able to get 1 layer nested down of a few summing stacks inside of a folder, but otherwise cannot nest folders inside each other. Perhaps I am doing something incorrect?

Thank you for the suggestion, this is definitely closer, but still not quite ideal for me. It was my fault for the wording in the original post, but the reason stacks are less useful of a solution in this regard is that when you visually abstract with this method some of the intuition is lost as far as the timing and role of small specific events at a glance. Once you clamp down the view of each track in a stack to a single lane in the arrange view, things like individual region and track colors are not preserved and the composite "region" does not represent the start and stop of the individual regions within, but rather all of them.

The reason why nesting tracks is closer to ideal (but still not) than using stacks in folders all at the same level (Which is currently all I can seem to achieve, let me know if I am foolish) is that the headspace during writing is more focused on the processing that happens in each "stem" or "group". With folders its sort of just volume control, but at least with something like a summing stack I can recover some of the lost visual information with association by "effect" or plugin processing.

And again, while nesting track stacks within each other would be awesome, especially as it is a feature within many other DAWs on the market, in this case Zooming out more is closer to ideal.
Logic Pro X (10.15.4)
Catalina: i7-8700K, 32GB 3466MHz
AKG C414 B-ULS
beyerdynamic T1 and DT880
Event 2020 V2
MOTU 828x, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC404HD
Casio Privia PX400R, Novation Launchpad Mini
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:56 pm

hey Man, so i saw your rant here, I just have one question: How did you take that screenshot, I was struggling to take a screenshot like that of my projects which has tons of tracks in it. If you could help me out, That would be awesome! Thanks again man!!!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:49 pm

pancakeroni wrote:
hey Man, so i saw your rant here, I just have one question: How did you take that screenshot, I was struggling to take a screenshot like that of my projects which has tons of tracks in it. If you could help me out, That would be awesome! Thanks again man!!!

See this: How to attach files to your post
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:59 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
pancakeroni wrote:
hey Man, so i saw your rant here, I just have one question: How did you take that screenshot, I was struggling to take a screenshot like that of my projects which has tons of tracks in it. If you could help me out, That would be awesome! Thanks again man!!!

See this: How to attach files to your post



Thanks David! But that’s not quite what I was looking for lol, I’m aware of how to take a screenshot. I was looking for ways to take a ‘scrolling screenshot’ if that makes any sense. Typically, if you take a screenshot using any of the screenshot options that Mac has, it would either do a part of your screen or the whole screen. But I was specifically looking for a way to capture the tracks in the main window in high resolution like in this thread where all those 300 tracks (which technically would not fit in one screen) are visible in one capture.

I did find some apps that let you take a scrolling screenshot of your logic window. However, they only allow ‘vertical scroll’ and not ‘horizontal scroll’ which would be really useful when I’m scrolling through my mixer on my other screen.

If you have any tricks up your sleeve for that, so let me know! I appreciate your help though!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:24 am

pancakeroni wrote:
Typically, if you take a screenshot using any of the screenshot options that Mac has, it would either do a part of your screen or the whole screen.

Actually Command-Shift-4 takes a screenshot of the whole window even if part of it is offscreen. But the issue is as you're trying to make a window taller than your screen, MacOS will automatically resize it to fit the screen.

pancakeroni wrote:
I did find some apps that let you take a scrolling screenshot of your logic window. However, they only allow ‘vertical scroll’ and not ‘horizontal scroll’ which would be really useful when I’m scrolling through my mixer on my other screen.

Snagit ( https://www.techsmith.com/screen-capture.html ) will let you do both horizontal and vertical scrolls.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:31 am

David Nahmani wrote:
pancakeroni wrote:
Typically, if you take a screenshot using any of the screenshot options that Mac has, it would either do a part of your screen or the whole screen.

Actually Command-Shift-4 takes a screenshot of the whole window even if part of it is offscreen. But the issue is as you're trying to make a window taller than your screen, MacOS will automatically resize it to fit the screen.

I did try Command -Shift - 4 but it only captured what was showing on my screen, I also tried to drag it downwards in hopes that it would capture the rest of the tracks, but no luck for that method unfortunately!

pancakeroni wrote:
I did find some apps that let you take a scrolling screenshot of your logic window. However, they only allow ‘vertical scroll’ and not ‘horizontal scroll’ which would be really useful when I’m scrolling through my mixer on my other screen.

Snagit ( https://www.techsmith.com/screen-capture.html ) will let you do both horizontal and vertical scrolls.


I noticed this app. Only thing that’s kind of annoying about it is that I have to pay for it. I was looking for more specific ways that I can do it by myself for free but thanks again for your suggestion :) I appreciate it
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:36 am

I believe they have a 30 day free trial.

Otherwise, if you can find a utility that lets you make windows bigger than your screen in MacOS, then you can Command-Shift-4 to capture them.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:42 am

Also David , for command + shift +4 doesn’t let you capture contents off screen because it’s related to ‘scrolling’. I do understand what you mean though, someone could have the window enlarged to a point that though contents are not visible and they have to click the window and drag it up or down to see the contents and if they a screenshot using the same way, the contents ‘offscreen’ would be visible.

But my case includes having to scroll to see the tracks so my guess is because it includes scroll, that command doesn’t seem to work :(
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:44 am

David Nahmani wrote:
I believe they have a 30 day free trial.

Otherwise, if you can find a utility that lets you make windows bigger than your screen in MacOS, then you can Command-Shift-4 to capture them.


I have no idea where I can find a ‘utility’ that lets me make my windows bigger than my screen lol, but that just might solve it, I’ll try to find something along those lines though. Thanks for your help :))
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:49 am

pancakeroni wrote:
Also David , for command + shift +4 doesn’t let you capture contents off screen because it’s related to ‘scrolling’. I do understand what you mean though, someone could have the window enlarged to a point that though contents are not visible and they have to click the window and drag it up or down to see the contents and if they a screenshot using the same way, the contents ‘offscreen’ would be visible.

But my case includes having to scroll to see the tracks so my guess is because it includes scroll, that command doesn’t seem to work :(

If you could make the window tall enough that the window contains all your tracks, even if parts of the window are offscreen, Command-Shift-4 would capture the whole window, therefore there would be no need to scroll.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:53 am

Horizontally works without the need for any utility. It's vertically that it's challenging to make the window taller than your screen. Here's a window I captured with Command-Shift-4 on my tiny 13" screen:

large screen.png
large screen.png (644.44 KiB) Viewed 851 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 1:01 pm

Yeah! That works for me too! Thanks for showing me that! Tried the same with my main window, didn't really work :/ Guess i have to use some utility for that. But if you do figure out a more efficient way please let me know or anyone really ! :)
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:45 pm

pancakeroni wrote:
Yeah! That works for me too! Thanks for showing me that! Tried the same with my main window, didn't really work :/

Why not? My screenshot is my main window.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:07 pm

I mean vertically! I figured it works horizontally for both the windows but vertically, no luck. It just jumps back and adjusts the window to my screen frame.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:15 pm

Ooooh vertically. Yes, you're right, MacOS doesn't seem to like it when you make windows taller than the screen. It's not limited to Logic Pro.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:21 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
Ooooh vertically. Yes, you're right, MacOS doesn't seem to like it when you make windows taller than the screen. It's not limited to Logic Pro.


I know T_T it sucks though right?! I’m trying to get a screenshot of my main window with like some 200 tracks in it and it just won’t even let me take it. I did figure out a way through an app called Clean Shot X: it does scrolling screenshot “ vertically “ but it’s a paid app which sucks T_T they do have a free trail though!

Here’s the link if anyone would ever look for it

https://cleanshot.com/
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9529
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:18 pm

I wonder if (temporarely) selecting a different display resolution could circumvent the limitation...
LogicPro 10.6.2, MainStage3.5.2
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
pancakeroni
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Zoom Tracks Out Further

Sat Apr 03, 2021 2:25 am

Atlas007 wrote:
I wonder if (temporarely) selecting a different display resolution could circumvent the limitation...

To a certain extent yeah it could depending on if your display is scaled. But once you start hitting that 400 track range even a change of resolution doesn’t help. I really wonder how Jacob takes those screenshots of his sessions with like 600 tracks in it and you can see literally everything.

Either he compiled them later or there’s some trickery to this stuff lol