A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
JamesK
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:45 am

LPX needs audio aliases

Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:51 am

So that when you alter the original audio region the alias is modifiedas well.

Yes you can loop an audio region but that won't work with the choruses.

Same as midi.
27in iMac i5 2011
High Sierra
16 gig ram
UR28M audio interface
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Cubase 10
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84132
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:12 pm

Logic Pro has audio region clones (Option-Shift-drag), where you can resize a region and all cones will resize accordingly:

audio-clones.gif
audio-clones.gif (65.99 KiB) Viewed 1878 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
JamesK
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:45 am

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:10 pm

Thanks David
That's helpful.


My needs would be more for using Flex Pitch.
I haven't been able to link audio regions so that if I change my flex pitch edits in one region they update in the other.

David Nahmani wrote:
Logic Pro has audio region clones (Option-Shift-drag), where you can resize a region and all cones will resize accordingly:

audio-clones.gif
27in iMac i5 2011
High Sierra
16 gig ram
UR28M audio interface
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Cubase 10
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84132
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:38 am

JamesK wrote:
I haven't been able to link audio regions so that if I change my flex pitch edits in one region they update in the other.

Actually it works here, if I record an audio region and create a clone, use Flex Pitch to edit the pitch of the original, the clone now is pitched the same way I pitched the original.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
JamesK
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:45 am

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:42 am

David Nahmani wrote:
JamesK wrote:
I haven't been able to link audio regions so that if I change my flex pitch edits in one region they update in the other.

Actually it works here, if I record an audio region and create a clone, use Flex Pitch to edit the pitch of the original, the clone now is pitched the same way I pitched the original.


Thanks David that's interesting.
I haven't been able to do that here in 10.4.8.

Going to try again now.

Cheers
27in iMac i5 2011
High Sierra
16 gig ram
UR28M audio interface
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Cubase 10
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84132
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:47 am

The odd thing in 10.6 is that the beams don't move accordingly on the clones — but the pitch shifting is affected equally on all clones. Still buggy though: whole semitone shifting does not work as expected — until you make a fine pitch adjustment.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
JamesK
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:45 am

Re: LPX needs audio aliases

Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:20 am

You are correct! Here on 10.4.8 is the same behavior of leaving the beam on the cloned region in original position. Need to double click on the original pitch corrected beam to activate the clone.
Looks like it will update, pitch, gain, pitch drift, vibrato and format shift but not any timing changes. Still that's pretty helpful.

Thanks!! :)
27in iMac i5 2011
High Sierra
16 gig ram
UR28M audio interface
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Cubase 10