A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
claesbjo
Topic Author
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:13 am

Track Stack nesting

Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:55 pm

Love the Track Stack, but for full functionality it should be possible to put a track stack inside a track stack :ie like it works with normal region folders.

cheers

Claes
MBP 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 duo
4 Gb 667 MHz DDR SDRAM

2010 hexacore Mac Pro 12 gig ram
OSX 10.6.8
Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro 10.0.1
RME RAYDAT RME Fireface 400
SSL Alphalink AX
 
rasmusmarshagen
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:42 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:55 am

+1

I got really dissappointed when I tried that and it just wouldn't work. I read some other posts from guys saying it worked if you created a track stack outside of the other track stack and then dragged it in, but for me it doesn't work. Maybe that was a bug from the earlier version(which I didn't have)? Maybe it somehow messes up the "smart control" function on the "host" track stack? Either way, they just fix it for full control! :|

cheers
Logic Pro X 10.4.5 - Mac OSX 10.14.5 - iMac Pro 27" 3 GHz Intel Xeon W 10 Core - 64 GB RAM - Apogee Quartet - Axiom Pro 49
 
User avatar
TimeForMusic
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:57 pm

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:49 pm

+1

I second this request. Not sure why they chose not to include this feature in the first place - I don't see how it would have harmed anything or caused any sort of problem. Let's hope this is included in the next update!
Logic Pro 10.5.1
Software: OS X 10.14.6
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Processor: 2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon ES
Memory: 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
 
User avatar
ben37
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:05 pm

yes please! essential! :D
MBP 15in 2017 3.1 i7 16gbram mac OS 10.15.6. Logic 10.6.0
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83534
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Track Stack nesting

Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:12 pm

+1
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
CCTMusic
Posts: 2432
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:34 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:27 am

Hi

It IS possible to put a Summing Stack inside a Folder Stack:
Folder Stack.jpg
Folder Stack.jpg (18.26 KiB) Viewed 9547 times

and
SumStackinsideFolder.jpg
SumStackinsideFolder.jpg (50.95 KiB) Viewed 9547 times


CCT
MacPro 2x2.9 Quad 28Gb OSX 10.14.x / LPX 10.5.1
MacBook Pro Quad 2.6 16Gb OSX.10.15.7 , LPX 10.6.1
 
User avatar
TimeForMusic
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:57 pm

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:46 am

Oh wow, it turns out you are right. Great, I'll definitely be doing this!

My only regret is that you evidently can only do this once (for instance, you can't seem to have three layers of track stacks at once). Correct me if I'm wrong on that one.

Apart from later adding the ability to have more than two layers, hopefully we can do this with summing tracks as well.

But apart from that, thank you for pointing this out! Now that you've mentioned it, the action seems so simple.
Logic Pro 10.5.1
Software: OS X 10.14.6
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Processor: 2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon ES
Memory: 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
 
User avatar
TimeForMusic
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:57 pm

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:09 pm

Hmm... Strange. I tried this out earlier, and it worked. Now, in a new project, I'm unable to put the summing track into the Folder Stack. When I try to drag it in, it just bounces right out.

How did you get this to work?
Logic Pro 10.5.1
Software: OS X 10.14.6
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Processor: 2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon ES
Memory: 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
 
claesbjo
Topic Author
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:13 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:24 pm

TimeForMusic wrote:
Hmm... Strange. I tried this out earlier, and it worked. Now, in a new project, I'm unable to put the summing track into the Folder Stack. When I try to drag it in, it just bounces right out.

How did you get this to work?


You need to create the sum track stack INSIDE the folder track stack. From tracks that are already present there.
MBP 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 duo
4 Gb 667 MHz DDR SDRAM

2010 hexacore Mac Pro 12 gig ram
OSX 10.6.8
Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro 10.0.1
RME RAYDAT RME Fireface 400
SSL Alphalink AX
 
rasmusmarshagen
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:42 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:28 pm

Yeah, cool it actually works. Although in this case I consider this a bug since you should to be able to move summing tracks around as you would with normal tracks, some tracks are "summing tracks" from the start, it makes no sense not being able to just drag it in? oh and I hope that in the next update logic manage to fix so track stacks could be nested infinitely, both folder and summing!
Logic Pro X 10.4.5 - Mac OSX 10.14.5 - iMac Pro 27" 3 GHz Intel Xeon W 10 Core - 64 GB RAM - Apogee Quartet - Axiom Pro 49
 
Kikonda12
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: Track Stack nesting

Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:36 am

+1

Yes Please! We NEED this!

It would be so helpful to have stacks inside stacks.
It takes a lot of workaround to accomplish the same thing with busses.
• Logic 10.0.7
• OS X 10.9.4
• iMac 2.7 GHz
• 15GB RAM
• Apogee Symphony 16x16
 
volition
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Track Stack nesting

Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:22 am

+1. Would simplify so much both in terms of layout and workflow.
LPX 10.2.4 on OS X 10.12.1. Mac Pro 6,1 (2 Intel Xeon E5 2608L V4 (16 cores, 32 threads) @ 1.6 GHz, 64 GB 1867 MHz DDR4 RAM, Samsung 840 120 GB SSD). UAD Apollo Quad.
 
claesbjo
Topic Author
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:13 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:37 am

I made a little video showing how simple and efficant it can be when using Studio One 2. This is what Apple should copy.

[youtube]ztFOk9kkJvU[/youtube]

cheers
MBP 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 duo
4 Gb 667 MHz DDR SDRAM

2010 hexacore Mac Pro 12 gig ram
OSX 10.6.8
Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro 10.0.1
RME RAYDAT RME Fireface 400
SSL Alphalink AX
 
User avatar
sambosun
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Los Angeles

Track Stack deep folding summing stacks

Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:19 am

It would be of great benefit if LPX supports deep folding of summing stacks. Putting summing stacks inside summing stacks so to speak.
 Certified Logic Pro Trainer
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 | Mac OS X 10.14.x
Mac Pro 6,1 | 12 Core | 64GB Ram | Presonus Quantum | VSL VE PRO 6 | NI Kontakt 6
 
User avatar
Mikko McMenamin
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 3:57 am

Re: Track Stack nesting

Fri May 02, 2014 4:22 am

+1
Bassist/Songwriter/Producer in Mekanism http://www.mekanismrocks.com
 
User avatar
sambosun
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Los Angeles

Re: Track Stack nesting

Tue May 13, 2014 2:40 pm

Now in Logic 10.0.7 it's possible to deep fold/ nest folder tracks into folder tracks.

If we now could save folder stacks like summing stacks, that would be awesome.
 Certified Logic Pro Trainer
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 | Mac OS X 10.14.x
Mac Pro 6,1 | 12 Core | 64GB Ram | Presonus Quantum | VSL VE PRO 6 | NI Kontakt 6
 
User avatar
Yanizle
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Track Stack nesting

Wed May 14, 2014 1:54 am

sambosun wrote:
Now in Logic 10.0.7 it's possible to deep fold/ nest folder tracks into folder tracks.

If we now could save folder stacks like summing stacks, that would be awesome.

Can you please show us how to do it :)
 
volition
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Track Stack nesting

Wed May 14, 2014 2:55 pm

Here's a simple demo of nesting folder tracks

http://quick.as/mdj3tn7e

The end of it shows that it's not very flexible (i.e. can't drag a folder onto an empty folder and expect it to nest, etc), that you can't nest summing stacks, etc. Still it's a great start and can make projects a lot tidier. Probably about as much as they can do before it makes sense to refactor Logic's audio routing.
LPX 10.2.4 on OS X 10.12.1. Mac Pro 6,1 (2 Intel Xeon E5 2608L V4 (16 cores, 32 threads) @ 1.6 GHz, 64 GB 1867 MHz DDR4 RAM, Samsung 840 120 GB SSD). UAD Apollo Quad.
 
User avatar
Yanizle
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Track Stack nesting

Mon May 19, 2014 10:11 pm

This is cool but I want to do it with Folder Stacks…. :/

volition wrote:
Here's a simple demo of nesting folder tracks

http://quick.as/mdj3tn7e

The end of it shows that it's not very flexible (i.e. can't drag a folder onto an empty folder and expect it to nest, etc), that you can't nest summing stacks, etc. Still it's a great start and can make projects a lot tidier. Probably about as much as they can do before it makes sense to refactor Logic's audio routing.
 
User avatar
sambosun
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Los Angeles

Re: Track Stack nesting

Tue May 20, 2014 2:50 pm

Yes it still feels somewhat unfinished. But we're getting there.
 Certified Logic Pro Trainer
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 | Mac OS X 10.14.x
Mac Pro 6,1 | 12 Core | 64GB Ram | Presonus Quantum | VSL VE PRO 6 | NI Kontakt 6