A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84173
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:13 pm

root_sashok wrote:
Reported three times. I think we should start a petition at change.org
Which post has the most summarized and informative description of the bug?
And we should attach two most clear videos with the bugs for ADC & PDC problems, I think.
Then post a link to all topics regarding Logic's ADC & PDC on all forums and maybe in the header of this site and forum?

This topic we're posting in is our most thorough, official bug report thread, that's the on e you should be linking to.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
root_sashok
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue Dec 08, 2020 5:26 am

Petition is here: http://chng.it/bfczxYTh9g
We need to post it in any ADC / PDC-related thread at any Logic forum.

Edit: could it be added to forum header?
 
JO'B
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:24 am

This is running a project to a halt right now. I can't sidechain Trackspacer on busses, the sidechain trigger is off tempo. I've been using LFO tool and drawing stuff in the last year or two, but Trackspacer has such a nice feel its become the tool of choice, it sounds better in the end, in considerably less time. And I can't use it on busses because Logic?

This is a pretty insane flaw. This thread is two years old. Not being able to sidechain makes Logic an unprofessional incomplete product.
16" 2019 Macbook Pro, 32gigs RAM, Logic 5.whatever's newest
 
JO'B
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:32 am

Would this be related to this issue with plugin automation being off? viewtopic.php?f=1&t=137436

This still doesn't work for me either. I've ended up abandoning a lot of bus automation as a creative option, which is absolutely ridiculous.
16" 2019 Macbook Pro, 32gigs RAM, Logic 5.whatever's newest
 
root_sashok
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 2:25 pm

Please keep reporting the bug to Apple!
 
root_sashok
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:41 pm

So Logic 10.6.1 is out and there's still no fix for ADC / PDC. We need to push this forward by constantly reporting this bug and hope they fix it in 10.6.2. Please send reports and make your Logic friends do that too.
 
root_sashok
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:22 pm

OK I found the solution for ADC bug: https://vimeo.com/489649693
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84173
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:58 pm

root_sashok wrote:
OK I found the solution for ADC bug: https://vimeo.com/489649693

Great! Thanks for sharing. So I suppose that's it more of a workaround than a solution?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
root_sashok
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:46 am

Yes, it's still weird but it's something. Let's hope for 10.6.2, we started reporting maybe a little too late for 10.6.1
 
rfpm
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:58 am

Yes let's keep reporting! As JO'B says "Not being able to sidechain makes Logic an unprofessional incomplete product." I have the same problem as him trying to use Trackspacer
 
SQWRK
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 11:17 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Jan 28, 2021 11:20 pm

FWIW I've submitted a bug report that notes that I've taken my money elsewhere after finding this bug while demoing Logic Pro. It's as simple as that.
 
AMD
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:27 am

root_sashok wrote:
OK I found the solution for ADC bug: https://vimeo.com/489649693


Many thanks for sharing this! I've submitted yet another bug report. There's no way they don't know about this by now.
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.2, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
seewest
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:32 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat Feb 06, 2021 11:58 am

I'm sorry, I need to vent. This is getting extremely frustrating. Don't get me wrong I'm sure this is extremely hard to resolve and there must be backwards compatibility concerns but this is getting ridiculous.

I have tried changing my workflow but I am forever coming up against this issue and I'm struggling to Mix projects. Any advise on how you over come this or have changed your workflow?

I really hope this is addressed soon. For the first time ever I'm considering changing DAW :(

I'll submit the bug yet again.
Logic Pro 10.5.1 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 6 Core i7 Apollo x8
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4491
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sun Feb 07, 2021 5:45 am

What i found that immediately throw logic out of sync horribly:
Sending to a bus, from a summing stack (or from another aux) - that completely breaks PDC.
I found if i refrain from using a send from an aux/summing stack, logic generally behaves
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
Jope
Posts: 1162
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:22 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sun Feb 07, 2021 12:18 pm

Maybe this caused my trouble with sidechaining with Sculpture, too. I use an ES1 instrument track as a source for an "External" exciter in an instance of Sculpture on another instrument track. Sculpture is followed by Izotope's Neutron 3, which causes a lot of latency no matter whether latency compensation is switched on or off. I guess when latency compensation is switched off, I hear the delay of Neutron 3, while switching delay compensation on makes logic delay the ES1 instance, ignoring the fact this kind of "compensation" will feed a delayed signal into Sculpture... I then used the Voxengo Latency Delay plugin for the ES1 track (a helper that reports an adjustable latency to the host), which seems to work for me, but obviously this is just a workaround.
MBP 16" i9, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, 4GB, macOS 10.15.3 (Catalina)
Edirol FA-101, FM8 v1.4.1, Absynth 5.3.1, Pianoteq Pro v6.0.1, Reaktor 6.1.1, SWAM Clarinets & Saxophones, Izotope stuff
CME UF80, TEC USB MIDI Breath & Bite Controller 2
http://soundcloud.com/joerg-pegler
 
Merlin
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:03 pm

seewest wrote:
I'm sorry, I need to vent. This is getting extremely frustrating. Don't get me wrong I'm sure this is extremely hard to resolve and there must be backwards compatibility concerns but this is getting ridiculous.

I have tried changing my workflow but I am forever coming up against this issue and I'm struggling to Mix projects. Any advise on how you over come this or have changed your workflow?

I really hope this is addressed soon. For the first time ever I'm considering changing DAW :(

I'll submit the bug yet again.


Can relate. I bit the bullet and have switched to Reaper. After 5 years and counting (that's how long this bug is around and not fixed) it was enough.
The learning curve is steep and it's painful to leave a DAW that I've mastered so well to go to one that I'm an absolute beginner in. Having said that: the PDC bug is simply too much. Often I could "fix" the results of the bug in the audio domain (after bouncing), but since the timing of elements in a song are all related, the fix usually wasn't a fix anymore and I simply let the offish timing stand. In Reaper I'm in control over timing again.
Logic Pro 10.5.1, Emagic AMT 8, MCU Pro
Mac OS 10.14.6
RME Fireface
 
JO'B
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Thu Mar 11, 2021 12:02 pm

I'm slowly learning Ableton. The last thing I want to do is switch DAWs but this issue makes Logic a dinosaur from another era that isn't up to the job anymore. Parallel processing and more intricate bussing have become integral to getting a great sound by modern standards and Logic simply isn't up to the task anymore. Apple really sucks for this one.
16" 2019 Macbook Pro, 32gigs RAM, Logic 5.whatever's newest
 
dylanjb
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 11:48 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:54 am

Finally had enough of Apple’s Logic with broken side-chain compensation. We’ve all waited far too long for this fix, so today I decided to make the big switch to Live 11. I really hope this bug gets quashed for all Logic users who rely on plugin- side-chain compensation in their work. If it ever does, who knows, perhaps I might come back to Logic again one day.
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4491
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat Mar 13, 2021 11:25 am

Can't say Live 11 is a good alternative despite these bugs. mixing on it is... hard.
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
JO'B
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat Mar 13, 2021 11:59 am

Reaper seems to be what mix engineers prefer. A lot of Protools users have jumped ship to Reaper since they changed their business model.

Producers/artists, especially leaning electronic, seem to prefer Ableton. Some great mixes coming out of Ableton though, I haven't dove in enough to have an opinion yet.

Logic is great for the entire process. I really don't want to switch. Still mind boggling you can't bus to various parallel processes and bus back to one channel, without automation and sidechain timing going random on you. Sometimes the whole session breaks, I'll bus one time too many and the timing of the entire session is off, sounds like a middle school band. Take the offending bus back off and it goes back to working correctly.
16" 2019 Macbook Pro, 32gigs RAM, Logic 5.whatever's newest