A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8
 
logness
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:34 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 12, 2020 6:19 am

NOT FIXED in 10.5!!! I'm speechless.

"Logic side-chain bug"

create track “audio 1”
create track “audio 2”

route track “audio 1” over “bus 1” to “aux 1”
insert latency inducing plugin “Linear Phase EQ” into “aux 1”
route “aux 1” over “bus 2” to “aux 2”

route track “audio 2” over “bus 3” to “aux 3”

insert plugin “Compressor” to “aux 3”
change side chain of the compressor to “bus 2”

put a identical drum-loop on both tracks

result:
audio 1 <-> audio 2 are NOT in sync
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 12, 2020 6:49 am

WHAT
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
Alan Shields
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:04 pm
Location: Ireland - The Land of Ire

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 12, 2020 8:41 am

It would've been better if instead of all those new additions in 10..5 they had just fixed this issue and included all the new goodies in a later update. This is a long standing problem and as far as I am concerned as long as it exists Logic should not have the word Pro in its title. Garageband Plus would be more apt. I am off to submit this bug again and I suggest that everyone here does the same.

Alan.
Context is Everything.

Logic Pro 10.6.1. Mac OS 10.15.7
Mac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019) - 3.6 GHz Intel 8-Core i9 - 40 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
2.5 Tonnes of (antique?) equipment gathering dust in their racks
 
User avatar
EastNashRocker
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:06 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 12, 2020 8:55 am

Just reported this again.. sigh
https://www.apple.com/feedback/logic-pro.html
 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 12, 2020 10:47 am

Was just about to ask if the bug is still present in 10.5, I'm shocked and also not shocked. Its unacceptable this still exists, Logic shouldn't be taken seriously as a professional software with issues like this still present. As many people as possible should report this bug to Apple using the link above. I just submitted mine.
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 8:49 am

Is this the mentioned automation bug?
I have a rhythmic filter cut off automation which plays off when I insert Ozone 8. Also bounced late as can be seen on the photo.

Screen Shot 2020-05-13 at 16.47.27.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-13 at 16.47.27.png (661.73 KiB) Viewed 2651 times
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 11:00 am

yeah this is the automation bug.
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 11:16 am

Ploki wrote:
yeah this is the automation bug.


Damn. Did not know it. I was not using Logic for so long other than infrequent small basic stuff .(Been on Studio one since the release)But got really excited with this update finally having the new sampler and all that but this is serious. Are there any workarounds?
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 11:53 am

ozinga wrote:
Ploki wrote:
yeah this is the automation bug.


Damn. Did not know it. I was not using Logic for so long other than infrequent small basic stuff .(Been on Studio one since the release)But got really excited with this update finally having the new sampler and all that but this is serious. Are there any workarounds?

offset automation by total latency on the strip
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 11:56 am

Ploki wrote:
ozinga wrote:

Damn. Did not know it. I was not using Logic for so long other than infrequent small basic stuff .(Been on Studio one since the release)But got really excited with this update finally having the new sampler and all that but this is serious. Are there any workarounds?

offset automation by total latency on the strip


Thanks
Ploki wrote:
ozinga wrote:

Damn. Did not know it. I was not using Logic for so long other than infrequent small basic stuff .(Been on Studio one since the release)But got really excited with this update finally having the new sampler and all that but this is serious. Are there any workarounds?

offset automation by total latency on the strip


Thank You
 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 12:33 pm

Ploki wrote:
ozinga wrote:

Damn. Did not know it. I was not using Logic for so long other than infrequent small basic stuff .(Been on Studio one since the release)But got really excited with this update finally having the new sampler and all that but this is serious. Are there any workarounds?

offset automation by total latency on the strip


Hi, would you be able to explain in greater detail what you mean by offsetting the automation by the total latency and how you do it? Thanks
 
Oder
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:00 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 5:12 pm

This problem and thread be going on for years but Apple still prefers to pump out loops and 1000 (non aligned) tracks. Also just submitted feedback.
Last edited by Oder on Wed May 13, 2020 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 13, 2020 5:17 pm

rfpm wrote:
Ploki wrote:
offset automation by total latency on the strip


Hi, would you be able to explain in greater detail what you mean by offsetting the automation by the total latency and how you do it? Thanks

however over plugins to see how much latency is reported, grab and drag backward for that amount
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
Twister
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:10 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Fri May 15, 2020 6:51 am

This issue needs immediate attention.
Macbook Pro Retina 2.5 GHz 16 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.15
Logic Pro X 10.4, RME Babyface
 
PDJMDS
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:15 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 19, 2020 3:34 am

This still hasn't been fixed. I'm considering making a Youtube video highlighting this problem and telling people to use cubase. hopefully that will get them moving?!
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 19, 2020 4:33 am

PDJMDS wrote:
This still hasn't been fixed. I'm considering making a Youtube video highlighting this problem and telling people to use cubase. hopefully that will get them moving?!

i'll gladly share it
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
EastNashRocker
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:06 pm

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 19, 2020 7:32 am

PDJMDS wrote:
This still hasn't been fixed. I'm considering making a Youtube video highlighting this problem and telling people to use cubase. hopefully that will get them moving?!


I know Logic users that don't believe this issue exists.. but I think a video would motivate them to send feedback to apple.
 
PDJMDS
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:15 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 19, 2020 11:42 am

Here it is.

 
dylanjb
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 11:48 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Tue May 19, 2020 12:17 pm

I’ve reported this to Apple. This is just not good enough!
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4466
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 20, 2020 3:30 am

sent feedback to apple with the video attached, thanks for taking the time
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8