A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro X 10.5.1)

Wed Dec 09, 2020 11:47 am

Getting close to 100 signatures. I tried sharing to people to get more signatures.
 
root_sashok
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:53 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro X 10.5.1)

Wed Dec 09, 2020 12:07 pm

Thank you! Don't forget to send a bug report with a petition link!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83585
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro X 10.5.1)

Thu Dec 10, 2020 12:12 am

root_sashok wrote:
Petition is here: http://chng.it/bfczxYTh9g
We need to post it in any ADC / PDC-related thread at any Logic forum.

Great, thank you for doing that. I have added the link to the petition to the first post of this thread.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
JO'B
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:37 am

Why are we having to petition Apple for basic Logic functionality? You pay a premium to buy into their ecosystem, then the basics don't work, and there's a freaking change.org petition being passed around? This is humiliating for Apple.
16" 2019 Macbook Pro, 32gigs RAM, Logic 5.whatever's newest
 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:52 am

Yeah it's embarrassing for them to be honest, I wish it became more visible. Multiple large Logic YouTube channels or producers to make the issue more obvious to a lot of people.
10.6.1 released 2 days ago, haven't been able to get on the studio computer but I'm assuming the issue is still there.
 
musuba
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 7:12 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Mon Mar 29, 2021 4:29 am

Has this been looked at and/or resolved at all yet? It's so annoying! I moved from Ableton LIVE because they ironically don't allow great latency compensation that should aid LIVE PERFORMACE. Logics Low Latency Mode is phenomenal BUT when you start routing auxes into stacks, etc, it's essentially a waste of time because it disregards your chains on the parent busses/stacks and messes with the volume levels you track an instrument into the mix. And of course not to mention each bus ends up having it's own latency delays which throws the whole project out of sync, especially once you have a few Soothes here and there!!
 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:20 pm

I haven't used Logic in a year now so I can't say, anyone else confirm it's still an issue?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83585
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:26 am

Yes it is still an issue.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
jonnycreations
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:02 am
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Wed Mar 31, 2021 11:49 am

musuba wrote:
Has this been looked at and/or resolved at all yet? It's so annoying! I moved from Ableton LIVE because they ironically don't allow great latency compensation that should aid LIVE PERFORMACE. Logics Low Latency Mode is phenomenal BUT when you start routing auxes into stacks, etc, it's essentially a waste of time because it disregards your chains on the parent busses/stacks and messes with the volume levels you track an instrument into the mix. And of course not to mention each bus ends up having it's own latency delays which throws the whole project out of sync, especially once you have a few Soothes here and there!!


Is there a way to calculate the cumulative latency effect per bus? I know you can find a plugin's latency by hovering over it, but I'm not sure it's as simple as adding all of those up—especially when automation is involved.

My issue stems from having multiple individual vocal tracks with Soothe and Waves Vocal Rider written onto the tracks as automation going to a lead vocal Aux channel and that going to an All Vox Aux channel. I'm getting some delay. I'm currently offsetting it with Logic's stock Sample Delay plugin and using my ear to guess if it's in time.
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)
Processor: 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
Memory: 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Logic Pro 10.6.1
Apogee Duet for Mac and iOS
 
rfpm
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:24 am

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:24 pm

Can't believe they still haven't addressed it, maybe by 2030. Look at @jonnycreations response, the DAW isn't usable for serious production.
 
User avatar
amnestic
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Sat Apr 17, 2021 1:45 pm

Hi all, super helpful to find this thread.
I just wanted to clarify something for myself and thought I'd ask here...

In all my time using Logic in the past year, I haven't had any issues with automation, but just now I had a situation where I put in some automation to control the level of a bus send. Something was super off in the timing, and when I looked at the automation occurring, I saw that it was automating almost a bar before the automation. So, it's not necessarily "delayed" -- it's more "pre-delayed."

Is this also what others have been dealing with when they've mentioned automation delay? So far, I've only seen examples of proper delay happening after the automation.
I'm also perplexed as to why I haven't seen this behaviour before until now... weird. :|
15" MacBook Pro (2019 model), 2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
500GB SSD, 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4 memory
MacOS Catalina 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6.1
Arturia MiniLab mkII via USB
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 audio interface via USB
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Sat Apr 17, 2021 1:48 pm

the issue is that on your bus you have some plugins causing latency on the bus...and LogicPro deals with AUX latency by delaying all the other tracks to line up with it....except...LogicPro isn't properly delaying automation along with it...so... its early compared to the delayed AUX channel and all the other channels too.

LogicPro automation is fundamentally broken for many complex mixer situations, it works fine in simple situation in my opinion but when you start getting into AUX's with latency, side chaining, etc..it falls apart..there are many threads about this and Apple has ignored the problem for years unfortunately.
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 128gb ram, OSX 10.15 on OpenCore, Logic Pro 10.5, Mainstage3, Cubase10.5, StudioOne4, Reaper, DP10, VEP7, VSL, too many plugins to list
 
User avatar
amnestic
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Automation and PDC is just broken (still in Logic Pro 10.6)

Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:04 pm

Ah, okay, that makes sense now. So bizarre that I haven't come across this before... And I've worked on some heavy projects in the past with loads of plugins, automation, etc. I can see how this can completely ruin projects and workflow if it's occurring all the time. Disappointing that Apple has done nothing.

I saw the petition and signed it, but also surprised to see so little signatures after 4 months!
15" MacBook Pro (2019 model), 2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
500GB SSD, 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4 memory
MacOS Catalina 10.15.7, Logic X 10.6.1
Arturia MiniLab mkII via USB
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 audio interface via USB